Run time: 135 mins

Virginie Efira and Niels Schneiderin astound in this accomplished and ambitious exploration of gender politics.


In 1958, 25-year-old Rachel, an office clerk living in French provincial town Châteauroux, meets Philippe, a romantic young intellectual from a wealthy family. They share a passionate but short-lived romance from which Rachel gives birth to a daughter, Chantal (impressive newcomer Estelle Lescure). Over the years that follow, their lives are shaped by the unconditional love between a mother and her daughter as they are both overwhelmed by absence, rejection and abuse.


Adapted from Christine Angot’s best-selling autobiographical novel, it is a film filled with searingly honest accounts; those of relationships, sexual experiences and psychological states past and present. Angot’s emotionally fuelled first-person confessions return time and again to the disturbing events of her youth, mirrored through the traumas of Rachel, a character played with such beauty by Belgian star Efira. Schneider is equally arresting as an elusive outsider who seems sincere in his love for Rachel, at least initially, but is unable to reconcile that with their differences in education and family standing. Hard-hitting stuff from director Catherine Corsini. (Research Chris Coetsee)


Monday 28th January
07:30 pm
Wednesday 30th January
02:00 pm
Wednesday 30th January
07:30 pm
Thursday 14th February
07:30 pm
Sunday 20th January
18:00
Monday 21st January
14:00
Tuesday 22nd January
14:00
SOLD OUT
Thursday 31st January
19:30
SOLD OUT
Friday 8th February
14:00
Friday 8th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Saturday 16th February
19:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 24th February
13:00
Wednesday 23rd January
14:00
Wednesday 23rd January
19:30
Sunday 27th January
18:00
Monday 28th January
14:00
Tuesday 29th January
14:00
Thursday 24th January
14:00
Thursday 24th January
19:30
Saturday 26th January
19:00
Monday 28th January
19:30
Wednesday 30th January
14:00
Wednesday 30th January
19:30
Thursday 14th February
19:30
Tuesday 29th January
19:30
Thursday 31st January
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 1st February
19:30
Thursday 7th February
14:00
Friday 15th February
14:00
Friday 22nd February
19:30
Friday 1st February
14:00
Saturday 2nd February
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 2nd February
19:00
Sunday 3rd February
13:00
Sunday 3rd February
18:00
Monday 4th February
14:00
Wednesday 6th February
14:00
Wednesday 6th February
19:30
Saturday 9th February
14:00
Wednesday 20th February
14:00
Saturday 23rd February
14:00
Tuesday 5th February
14:00
Tuesday 5th February
19:30
Monday 11th February
14:00
Saturday 9th February
19:00
Sunday 17th February
13:00
Sunday 10th February
13:00
Sunday 10th February
18:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 11th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 12th February
14:00
Tuesday 12th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 13th February
14:00
Wednesday 13th February
19:30
Thursday 14th February
14:00
Saturday 16th February
14:00
Saturday 23rd February
19:00
Sunday 17th February
18:00
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 19th February
14:00
Tuesday 19th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 20th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Monday 25th February
14:00
Thursday 21st February
19:30
Friday 22nd February
14:00
Sunday 24th February
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 26th February
14:00
Tuesday 26th February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 27th February
14:00
Wednesday 27th February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 28th February
14:00
Thursday 28th February
19:30