Run time: 117 mins

Condemned as a work of “revolting immorality”, the French novel was promptly banned by the very society it described, which of course didn’t stop it being voraciously devoured for the next 200 years.


One day the Marquise (Glenn Close) comes to the Vicomte (John Malkovich) with an assignment. She has lost a lover who left her to marry an innocent Cecile (a very young Uma Thurman). She wishes the Vicomte to seduce the young woman before she can bear her virginity to the marital bed. The Vicomte accepts the dare and dispatches himself to the country, where, however, he eventually sets his sights on another young woman instead, the virtuous Madame de Tourvel (Michelle Pfeiffer).

The stage version, adapted by British playwright Christopher Hampton, won the 1986 Olivier Award, and then, of course, came Stephen Frears’ film, and thirty years after release its potency still fills the air. Frears’ smoothly assured direction punches the witty lines in Hampton’s production to the big screen, and that fabulous cast doesn’t miss a single cue in its delivery. (Jack Whiting)


Sunday 20th January
06:00 pm
Monday 21st January
02:00 pm
Sunday 20th January
18:00
Monday 21st January
14:00
Tuesday 22nd January
14:00
SOLD OUT
Thursday 31st January
19:30
SOLD OUT
Friday 8th February
14:00
Friday 8th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Saturday 16th February
19:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 24th February
13:00
Wednesday 23rd January
14:00
Wednesday 23rd January
19:30
Sunday 27th January
18:00
Monday 28th January
14:00
Tuesday 29th January
14:00
Thursday 24th January
14:00
Thursday 24th January
19:30
Saturday 26th January
19:00
Monday 28th January
19:30
Wednesday 30th January
14:00
Wednesday 30th January
19:30
Thursday 14th February
19:30
Tuesday 29th January
19:30
Thursday 31st January
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 1st February
19:30
Thursday 7th February
14:00
Friday 15th February
14:00
Friday 22nd February
19:30
Friday 1st February
14:00
Saturday 2nd February
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 2nd February
19:00
Sunday 3rd February
13:00
Sunday 3rd February
18:00
Monday 4th February
14:00
Wednesday 6th February
14:00
Wednesday 6th February
19:30
Saturday 9th February
14:00
Wednesday 20th February
14:00
Saturday 23rd February
14:00
Tuesday 5th February
14:00
Tuesday 5th February
19:30
Monday 11th February
14:00
Saturday 9th February
19:00
Sunday 17th February
13:00
Sunday 10th February
13:00
Sunday 10th February
18:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 11th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 12th February
14:00
Tuesday 12th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 13th February
14:00
Wednesday 13th February
19:30
Thursday 14th February
14:00
Saturday 16th February
14:00
Saturday 23rd February
19:00
Sunday 17th February
18:00
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 19th February
14:00
Tuesday 19th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 20th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Monday 25th February
14:00
Thursday 21st February
19:30
Friday 22nd February
14:00
Sunday 24th February
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 26th February
14:00
Tuesday 26th February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 27th February
14:00
Wednesday 27th February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 28th February
14:00
Thursday 28th February
19:30