Run time: 100 mins

This chronicle of reckless, outrageous human spirit is truly terrifying magic.


Co-directors Jimmy Chin and Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi are both experienced climbers. Their skill gives Free Solo its intensity. The real credit lies in the sure palms of ambitious young climber Alex Honnold, boldly aiming to become the first to climb the 3,000ft sheer El Capitan Wall in Yosemite all by himself, with no equipment. As Alex commences his climb, he produces some of the most nail-biting cinema you will ever see.


Chin and his crew put themselves in precarious positions to get their footage and wrestle with the moral question of whether they should be filming it at all. Do they want to film their friend drop and die? Will their ever-present lense spoil Honnold’s concentration to rise or fall…


Not to give away the end of this jaw-to-the-floor study in courageous, foolhardy, human endeavour, he dies…? This ridiculous adventure naturally lends itself to being supremely cinematic. (Research Chris Coetsee) Anchored by being edge of the seat throughout, Honnold is both sane and nuts. Yes, beautiful documentary filmmaking at its best. There’s no sign of a boot, a rope, a flask of something warm or a stout stick. Do try this at home children.


Thursday 21st February
07:30 pm
Tuesday 19th February
14:00
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 19th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 20th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Monday 25th February
14:00
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 20th February
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 23rd February
14:00
SOLD OUT
Thursday 21st February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Friday 22nd February
14:00
Friday 22nd February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Saturday 23rd February
19:00
Sunday 24th February
13:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 24th February
18:00
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 26th February
14:00
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 26th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 27th February
14:00
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 27th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Monday 25th February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 28th February
14:00
Thursday 28th February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS