Run time: 103 mins

Maxine Peake rules the roost as an ambitious club performer in the dark days of British stand-up.


Working the Northern comedy circuit of the 1970s and 80s, Peake’s pithy central character remains unnamed, instead defined by the casual misogyny and common language of the era (‘Funny Cow’ and more). Segments of a life story are cut into scenes on stage where she recalls her troubled past. As flashbacks dip haphazardly into various periods, before settling onto her childhood, we take the place of the club audience whose laughter fades as the grim realities of growing up poor with a drunken mother and a violent father unfold.


Acknowledging the racism, sexism and homophobia that tainted the humour of the period, we’re given a real sense of what forged a ruthlessly tough woman willingly prepared to take on the ‘blokes’ at their own game and beat them with their own weapons.


“There is no moral, and in the words of Jerry Seinfeld, there is no hugging, no learning. There is just a hypnotically belligerent performance from Peake, whose anti-heroine explodes like a firework, burning herself to an ashy crisp.” (Guardian) (research Chris Coetsee). Sounds like a belt in the mouth from all sides. See what you think.


Saturday 26th May
07:00 pm
Tuesday 29th May
07:30 pm
Thursday 24th May
14:00
SOLD OUT
Friday 25th May
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 3rd June
18:00
Tuesday 5th June
14:00
Tuesday 5th June
19:30
Tuesday 12th June
14:00
Tuesday 12th June
19:30
Thursday 24th May
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 31st May
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 2nd June
19:00
Friday 25th May
19:30
STROBE LIGHT WARNING
Saturday 26th May
14:00
STROBE LIGHT WARNING
Saturday 26th May
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 29th May
19:30
SOLD OUT
Monday 28th May
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 30th May
14:00
Saturday 2nd June
14:00
Saturday 9th June
14:00
Saturday 23rd June
14:00
Monday 4th June
14:00
Monday 4th June
19:30
Wednesday 6th June
14:00
Wednesday 6th June
19:30
Wednesday 20th June
14:00
Thursday 7th June
14:00
Thursday 7th June
19:30
Friday 8th June
19:30
Saturday 9th June
19:00
Wednesday 13th June
14:00
Thursday 14th June
14:00
Thursday 14th June
19:30
Sunday 17th June
18:00
Monday 18th June
14:00
Tuesday 26th June
14:00
Tuesday 26th June
19:30
Saturday 16th June
19:00
Wednesday 20th June
19:30
Monday 18th June
19:30
Thursday 21st June
14:00
Tuesday 19th June
14:00
Tuesday 19th June
19:30
Friday 22nd June
19:30
Saturday 23rd June
19:00
Sunday 24th June
18:00
Wednesday 27th June
14:00
Wednesday 27th June
19:30
Thursday 28th June
14:00
Thursday 28th June
19:30
Monday 25th June
14:00
Monday 25th June
19:30
Friday 29th June
19:30
Saturday 30th June
19:00