Run time: 106 mins

Director Fatih Akin’s Cannes and Oscar-nominated revenge drama explores grief, violence and the cross-cultural tension of modern Germany.


Told in three distinct chapters, the film is alternatively wrenching, gripping and perplexing. Diane Kruger, who took Best Actress at Cannes for the role, plays Katja Sekerci. She lives a happy family life in Hamburg with her Turkish husband Nuri (Numan Acar) and their five-year-old son Rocco.


Returning to Nuri’s office one evening, she discovers to her horror that the area has been cordoned off by police following the explosion of a nail bomb. Following a frantic search, Katja’s life falls apart as she realises both Nuri and Rocco having innocently fallen victim to the violence. Descending into a nightmare of grief and disorientation, she desperately leads a hunt for the perpetrators and reasons behind the senseless killing.


A painfully timely thriller, In the Fade is one of prolific German filmmaker Akin’s best films since his 2004 masterpiece, Head-On, perfectly capturing the sense of a city and its victims in the aftermath of a terrorist bombing. A whirlwind of anguish, fury and injustice. (research Chris Coetsee)

One not to miss. Should be on more than once, so it will be back.


Monday 23rd July
07:30 pm
Thursday 19th July
14:00
Monday 30th July
19:30
Friday 20th July
19:30
Saturday 21st July
14:00
Saturday 21st July
19:00
Monday 23rd July
14:00
Tuesday 31st July
14:00
Sunday 22nd July
18:00
Tuesday 24th July
14:00
Tuesday 24th July
19:30
Wednesday 25th July
19:30
Thursday 26th July
19:30
SOLD OUT
Friday 27th July
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 28th July
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 29th July
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 31st July
19:30
SINGLE SEATS