3723004

Run time: 128 mins

Just this once, believe the hype. The stars align and these two starry adorables reunite in Damien Chazelle’s fabulous storytelling musical ditty.

He has you in the palm of his hand from the opening one-take shot, when the two leads, jobbing jazz musician Ryan Gosling and aspiring actress Emma Stone, pass in their cars after all an singing/dancing traffic snarl-up an on a soaring freeway LA overpass. La La Land gets a lot of flavour from its fabulous screen heritage. It’s an indie do-over of a French New Wave-take on classic American musicals, part Top Hat, part Umbrellas Of Cherbourg, but mostly Singin’ In The Rain. Yet Chazelle deftly handles the combination, and in doing so avoids the cheese. It is equal parts corny and cool. If Emma is the heart, Ryan is its soul.

This is the America we dream about. For two genuinely magical hours, you can forget about the real one. (research Jack Whiting) It is Hollywood’s unabashed celebration of itself. It is why ‘they’ built 1100 seater ‘escape’ palaces, like Rex’s and Odysseys everywhere throughout the Thirties.

An Oscar for fun, without one preachy po-face, in this early Dr Strangelove 2017, will be worth its wait in smiles of small joy…


Wednesday 17th May
02:00 pm
Saturday 29th April
14:00
Saturday 29th April
19:00
Sunday 30th April
18:00
Monday 1st May
19:30
Wednesday 3rd May
14:00
Tuesday 9th May
14:00
Tuesday 9th May
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 31st May
14:00
Tuesday 2nd May
14:00
Tuesday 2nd May
19:30
Wednesday 10th May
14:00
Wednesday 10th May
19:30
Wednesday 3rd May
19:30
Thursday 4th May
14:00
Thursday 4th May
19:30
Thursday 11th May
14:00
Thursday 11th May
19:30
Friday 5th May
19:30
Saturday 6th May
14:00
Saturday 6th May
19:00
Sunday 7th May
18:00
Monday 8th May
14:00
Saturday 27th May
14:00
Monday 29th May
19:30
Tuesday 30th May
14:00
Friday 12th May
19:30
Saturday 13th May
19:00
Sunday 14th May
18:00
Monday 15th May
14:00
Tuesday 16th May
14:00
Tuesday 16th May
19:30
Thursday 18th May
14:00
Thursday 18th May
19:30
Saturday 20th May
19:00
Sunday 21st May
18:00
Wednesday 24th May
14:00
Wednesday 24th May
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Thursday 25th May
14:00
Monday 22nd May
14:00
Monday 22nd May
19:30
Tuesday 23rd May
14:00
Tuesday 23rd May
19:30
Friday 26th May
19:30
Saturday 27th May
19:00
Tuesday 30th May
19:30
Wednesday 31st May
19:30