Run time: 109 mins

Ever since her understated Winter’s Bone, director Debra Granik, has been quite adept at chronicling marginalized individuals, but her new effort reveals a sustained tenderness she’s never before achieved.


Based on the novel My Abandonment by Peter Rock, Leave No Trace is a dark, contemplative, and finally agonizing portrait of a traumatized war vet, Will (Ben Foster), who can’t endure society, alongside his 13-year-old daughter, Thom (Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie), who lives with him in Forest Park near Portland. Granik doesn’t give the audience any bearings for a while, but it’s plain enough they have an easy, tender relationship, and that they’re careful to hide all evidence of their existence from rangers or police.


A seemingly small mistake on Thom’s part exposes them to the authorities. Hence, they  are evicted from the federal land they occupy and put into the social services system. And just as they begin to settle into their new arrangement, away they go, back into the woods, leaving us frustrated and desperate to empathize?


It certainly fits into Granik’s wheelhouse: gritty, live-off-the-land filmmaking with a fascinating cast, who look like they live that life. (Jack Whiting) “a sympathetic, affecting, beautifully realised portrait of lives lived on the margins” (Empire) Come.


Tuesday 24th July
07:30 pm
Wednesday 25th July
07:30 pm
Thursday 19th July
14:00
Monday 30th July
19:30
Friday 20th July
19:30
Saturday 21st July
14:00
Saturday 21st July
19:00
Monday 23rd July
14:00
Tuesday 31st July
14:00
Sunday 22nd July
18:00
Tuesday 24th July
14:00
Tuesday 24th July
19:30
Wednesday 25th July
19:30
Thursday 26th July
19:30
SOLD OUT
Friday 27th July
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 28th July
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 29th July
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 31st July
19:30
SINGLE SEATS