3700759

Run time: 137 mins

Casey Affleck’s burgeoning career continues to go from strength to strength as he shines in Kenneth Lonergan’s searing emotional drama.


Set against Massachusetts’ gloomy North Shore, this tragic tale follows Lee Chandler (Affleck) a young man hopelessly lost in life, as he returns to his hometown after the death of his brother Joe (another brilliant turn by Kyle Chandler) to care for Joe’s only son, 16-year-old, Patrick. His brother’s death has left Lee an unexpected, and most under-qualified, legal guardian.


With painful flashbacks to the past intermingled with turbulent scenes of the present, the source of Lee’s sorrow is slowly revealed, underpinning the complexity of his relationships with Patrick and ex-wife Randi (the reliably odd, Michelle Williams) who has remarried and has a baby on the way.


Considered front runners for Best Actor and Best Supporting Actress Oscars, Affleck and Williams may have to play second string to Lonergan on the night with many predicting a Best Picture nomination. Whether or not, Manchester-by-the-Sea remains a career highlight, not only for its director but, for virtually all involved.


“His heartbreaking third feature finally confirms Lonergan as an auteur of genuine merit” (Guardian) (research Chris Coetsee). It will wring you ragged, but don’t miss.


Tuesday 28th March
07:30 pm
Sunday 9th April
06:00 pm
Tuesday 11th April
07:30 pm
Tuesday 28th March
19:30
SOLD OUT
Sunday 9th April
18:00
Tuesday 11th April
19:30
Wednesday 29th March
14:00
Wednesday 29th March
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Thursday 30th March
14:00
Thursday 30th March
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 31st March
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 1st April
14:00
Thursday 6th April
14:00
Saturday 1st April
19:00
SINGLE SEATS
Sunday 2nd April
18:00
SINGLE SEATS
Monday 3rd April
14:00
Monday 3rd April
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Tuesday 4th April
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Thursday 13th April
14:00
Sunday 16th April
18:00
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 5th April
19:30
Thursday 6th April
19:30
Monday 10th April
14:00
Saturday 22nd April
14:00
Monday 10th April
19:30
Thursday 20th April
14:00
Thursday 20th April
19:30
Wednesday 12th April
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Thursday 13th April
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 14th April
19:30
Saturday 15th April
19:00
Tuesday 18th April
14:00
Tuesday 18th April
19:30
Wednesday 19th April
14:00
Wednesday 19th April
19:30
Friday 21st April
19:30
Monday 24th April
14:00
Saturday 22nd April
19:00
Thursday 27th April
14:00
Sunday 23rd April
18:00
Tuesday 25th April
14:00
Tuesday 25th April
19:30
Wednesday 26th April
14:00
Wednesday 26th April
19:30
Thursday 27th April
19:30
Friday 28th April
19:30
Saturday 29th April
14:00
Saturday 29th April
19:00
Sunday 30th April
18:00