Run time: 127 mins

Thrill-seeking rebellion runs rife in Michaël Roskam’s sexy slow-burner.


Experiencing a broken life since he was a teenager, Gigi (Matthias Schoenaerts) has built a gang of thieves with his lifelong friends, selling themselves as businessmen while they plan out major robberies. When Gigi meets Bibi (Adele Exarchopoulos) a young racing car driver who captures his attention, their initial spark quickly blossoms into… true love.


Starting to sense a better life for himself beyond crime, Gigi passionately seeks a way out, but obligations to his partners must be met. Aiming for a large score to put an end to a lifetime of bad decisions, Gigi lands himself in deep, forcing a string of disastrous knock-ons and leaving Bibi caught between passion and confusion.


Roskam’s smooth, 70s-noir-triggered filmmaking divides the story into three chapters, the first two focusing on the main characters, the last containing the natural progression of their star-crossed romance as it faces inevitable, ill-planned challenges. All the while, Schoenaerts and Exarchopoulos have such a blistering on-screen chemistry, we buy the union of Gigi and Bibi. Genuinely and refreshingly original in all the right ways. (Research Chris Coetsee) And it’s been luke-warmed by sniffy crits, so bound to be fabulous. Come, get caught up.


Thursday 30th August
07:30 pm
Sunday 19th August
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 21st August
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Thursday 23rd August
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 22nd August
14:00
Wednesday 22nd August
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 25th August
14:00
Tuesday 28th August
14:00
Saturday 25th August
19:00
Sunday 26th August
18:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 27th August
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Tuesday 28th August
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 29th August
14:00
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 29th August
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Thursday 30th August
14:00
SOLD OUT
Friday 31st August
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 31st August
19:30
SINGLE SEATS