Run time: 98 mins

Bear Winner at Berlin, Carla Simón’s touching debut film explores the raw intricacies of childhood grief.


Based on the Catalan filmmaker’s childhood, Summer 1993 follows six-year-old Frida (Laia Artigas) orphaned after the loss of her mother. Although her uncle Esteve (David Verdaguer) and his family affectionately welcome Frida into their home, the orphan’s move from Barcelona to a rural village is difficult. Simón deftly sets a tone which balances melancholy with hope, capturing light amidst darkness in the sun-drenched Catalan countryside. The director states that Frida “learns something very big about death, she has to start over, but without stopping being a kid” (BFI). Complex moments of new jealousy interlaced with childhood play are found with her three-year-old cousin Anna (the uncannily brilliant Paula Robles).


Summer 1993 favours the small details, rejecting a fast-paced drama for subtlety and depth. Despite their young age, the children’s stunning performances capture the complex inner state of children in a time of loss, change and uncertainty. Translating personal experience onto the big screen, Simón’s debut is a triumph. (research Rachel Williams) Autobiographical film making is hard to trust, but these children are outrageously good, if ‘good’ is the right word for ‘acting’ at 6 and 3!!


Monday 22nd October
02:00 pm
Monday 22nd October
07:30 pm
Monday 22nd October
14:00
Monday 22nd October
19:30
Tuesday 23rd October
14:00
Tuesday 23rd October
19:30
Wednesday 24th October
19:30
Wednesday 24th October
14:00
Monday 29th October
14:00
Thursday 25th October
14:00
Thursday 25th October
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 26th October
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 2nd November
19:30
Saturday 3rd November
19:00
Wednesday 7th November
14:00
Wednesday 7th November
19:30
Friday 26th October
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 8th November
14:00
Friday 9th November
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 27th October
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 27th October
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 28th October
18:00
SOLD OUT
Thursday 1st November
19:30
Sunday 4th November
18:00
Monday 5th November
14:00
Monday 5th November
19:30
Monday 29th October
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Thursday 22nd November
19:30
Wednesday 31st October
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 31st October
19:30
Tuesday 6th November
14:00
Wednesday 28th November
14:00
Wednesday 28th November
19:30
Tuesday 6th November
19:30
SOLD OUT
Monday 12th November
14:00
Saturday 10th November
14:00
Sunday 11th November
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 10th November
19:00
Wednesday 14th November
14:00
Wednesday 14th November
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Thursday 15th November
14:00
Thursday 15th November
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 16th November
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 23rd November
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 24th November
19:00
Sunday 25th November
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 26th November
14:00
Monday 12th November
19:30
Tuesday 13th November
14:00
Tuesday 13th November
19:30
Saturday 17th November
14:00
Saturday 17th November
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 18th November
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 19th November
14:00
Monday 19th November
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 20th November
14:00
Tuesday 20th November
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 21st November
14:00
Thursday 22nd November
14:00
Thursday 29th November
14:00
Monday 26th November
19:30
Tuesday 27th November
14:00
Friday 30th November
19:30
SOLD OUT