Run time: 97 mins

Arthur Ransome’s beloved tales recounting childhood adventures are told anew on the big screen. The twelve books were named after the title of the first one in the series and set between the two World Wars. Despite some deviations from the original plot, including the renaming of central character Titty to Tatty. This schoolboy’s tittering embargo is not well received by the family of Mavis (Titty) Altounyan who inspired the original character in the novel. However, one not-so-subtle tweak is the addition of Russian spies. handy in the dumbing down dept. Luckily, the Lake District setting is portrayed in all its beauty, serving to remind us of ‘hills and streams and trees’. As for simple penknife and string adventures, this is a delicious treasure set in what we think of as a time of assured innocence “A good-natured, if self-conscious period adaptation that grafts on a new grownup (dumbed down) plotline of treachery” (Guardian) “There’s a period-appropriate honesty to it, easily mistaken at first for earnestness or nostalgia. It sets it apart from any other family film you’ll see this summer” (Telegraph) Quite right Telegraph. Pat yourself, but not so vigourously as to induce pleasure.

Monday 20th August
02:00 pm
Sunday 19th August
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 21st August
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Thursday 23rd August
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 22nd August
14:00
Wednesday 22nd August
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 25th August
14:00
Tuesday 28th August
14:00
Saturday 25th August
19:00
Sunday 26th August
18:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 27th August
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Tuesday 28th August
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 29th August
14:00
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 29th August
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Thursday 30th August
14:00
SOLD OUT
Friday 31st August
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 31st August
19:30
SINGLE SEATS