Run time: 113 mins

Penelope Fitzgerald’s 1959 Booker-shortlisted novel is brought to wryly satirical life.


Florence Green (Mortimer) sees her dreams come true when she defies the odds and opens a bookshop in the sleepy seaside town of Hardborough, Suffolk. Ignoring opposition from the narrow-minded locals and thin-lipped town socialite Violet Gamart (Clarkson) Florence continues her focused attempt to bring good literature to the community, attracting the attention of Mr. Brundish (Nighy) a book lover, unmoved by small minds locals. Through her gradual introduction of classic contemporary works of fiction to sheltered neighbours, she stirs many long buried feelings in the townsfolk.


A time of tea, cardigans and paraffin heaters is lovingly depicted by director Isabel Coixet, just as the suitably grim-grey cinematography presents a post-war Britain aching for the expressive freedoms represented by the Philip Larkin, Vladimir Nabokov and Ray Bradbury, stocked in Florence’s shop.


For fans of the Fitzgerald novel, Nighy as Florence’s unlikely ally will please and is, as always, wonderful, yet while the story resists typically comforting clichés, it does depart slightly from its source. (Research Chris Coetsee) It doesn’t matter. The gorgeous Emily Mortimer and that Nigh man for all seasons, weathers and times, are there at its heart. You must come.


Thursday 26th July
07:30 pm
Thursday 19th July
14:00
Monday 30th July
19:30
Friday 20th July
19:30
Saturday 21st July
14:00
Saturday 21st July
19:00
Monday 23rd July
14:00
Tuesday 31st July
14:00
Sunday 22nd July
18:00
Tuesday 24th July
14:00
Tuesday 24th July
19:30
Wednesday 25th July
19:30
Thursday 26th July
19:30
SOLD OUT
Friday 27th July
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 28th July
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 29th July
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 31st July
19:30
SINGLE SEATS