Run time: 81 mins

Studio Ghibli are back, sort of. This partnership with Dutch-British animator Michaël Dudok de Wit is a palette-cleansing beauty.


We open with a blue-grey vision of the sea, rising like Mount Fuji against charcoal skies – the pre-credits shipwrecking of our nameless Robinson Crusoe.


He is washed up on an archetypal desert island. Repeated attempts to sail away bring him into contact with a mysterious giant turtle, out of which a magical companionship magically. The story operates at the level of a universal myth, free of dialogue or specifics, subtly alluding to more essential, existential matters.


The Red Turtle evolves from an ambitious tale of survival into something poignant, and utterly profound. The simple way it takes on the familiar concepts of companionship, growing up and letting go, in a way that both children and adults can unpack without losing the emotional complexity, seems quietly groundbreaking. You understand why the legendary Japanese animation house chose Dudok de Wit as its first European collaborator. Allow yourself to get lost. (research Jack Whiting)


A truly breathtaking experience for any audience. As is the immortal, heart-flying Red Balloon. “The Red Balloon (1956) is one of the most beautiful short films ever made.


Filmed entirely in the picturesque back streets and narrow Parisienne alleys of the Old Menilmotant district, The Red Balloon has been acclaimed throughout the world as an immortal masterpiece of lyrical poetry…” And it is. Come.


Showing as a short double bill at the Rex. Don’t dare miss them.

Thursday 27th July
07:30 pm
Thursday 27th July
14:00
Friday 28th July
19:30
Saturday 29th July
19:00
Sunday 30th July
18:00
Thursday 3rd August
14:00
Thursday 3rd August
19:30
Wednesday 23rd August
14:00
Wednesday 23rd August
19:30
Monday 31st July
14:00
Monday 7th August
14:00
Monday 31st July
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Tuesday 1st August
14:00
Tuesday 1st August
19:30
Wednesday 2nd August
14:00
Wednesday 2nd August
19:30
Friday 4th August
19:30
Saturday 5th August
19:00
Tuesday 8th August
19:30
Thursday 17th August
19:30
Thursday 31st August
19:30
Saturday 5th August
14:00
Tuesday 8th August
14:00
Thursday 10th August
14:00
Thursday 10th August
19:30
Friday 11th August
19:30
Tuesday 29th August
19:30
Wednesday 30th August
19:30
Saturday 12th August
14:00
Thursday 17th August
14:00
Thursday 31st August
14:00
Saturday 12th August
19:00
Sunday 13th August
18:00
Tuesday 15th August
14:00
Monday 14th August
19:30
Wednesday 16th August
14:00
Wednesday 16th August
19:30
Friday 18th August
19:30
Saturday 19th August
19:00
Sunday 20th August
18:00
Tuesday 22nd August
19:30
Saturday 19th August
14:00
Tuesday 22nd August
14:00
Thursday 24th August
14:00
Friday 25th August
19:30
Saturday 26th August
19:00
Sunday 27th August
18:00
Saturday 26th August
14:00
Tuesday 29th August
14:00
Monday 28th August
19:30
Wednesday 30th August
14:00