Their Finest Hour and A Half
Directed by Lone Sherfig

Run time: 117 mins

A movie within a movie: one mostly comic, the other mostly dramatic; Their Finest


comments on the futility of war, the flexibility of truth, the sorcery of film and the sexism of man. Wow… and all in one mainstream film – with Bill Nighy!


Gemma Arterton plays Catrin Cole, a young copywriter during the Blitz who, at the outset, is offered a job by the Ministry of Information’s Film Division to bring a female perspective to its popular propaganda shorts that ran between features at cinemas. “Obviously we can’t pay you as much as the chaps,” says her soon-to-be supervisor (Richard E Grant) after making the proposal.


After being assigned to co-script a project centred around the Battle of Dunkirk, Cole immediately begins to butt heads with crabby fellow screenwriter Buckley (the average Sam Claflin) who can’t seem to accept that he has to work alongside a woman. He of course soon morphs from callous to swoon-worthy, eventually taking a keen romantic interest in his colleague.


It’s a fab period piece, and Gemma Arterton is gorgeous as always, but the more than always gorgeous, charming, joyous and gloriously himself Bill Nighy; saves the day and the film. (research Jack Whiting) Perfect. Don’t miss.

Monday 26th June
02:00 pm
Wednesday 5th July
02:00 pm
Wednesday 5th July
07:30 pm
Monday 26th June
14:00
Wednesday 5th July
14:00
Wednesday 5th July
19:30
Tuesday 27th June
14:00
Tuesday 27th June
19:30
Wednesday 28th June
14:00
Thursday 6th July
14:00
Thursday 29th June
14:00
Thursday 29th June
19:30
Friday 30th June
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 1st July
19:00
Tuesday 11th July
19:30
Saturday 1st July
14:00
Saturday 8th July
14:00
Wednesday 26th July
14:00
Thursday 27th July
19:30
Monday 3rd July
14:00
Monday 3rd July
19:30
Tuesday 4th July
14:00
Tuesday 4th July
19:30
Friday 7th July
19:30
Saturday 22nd July
14:00
Tuesday 25th July
14:00
Saturday 8th July
19:00
Tuesday 11th July
14:00
Monday 10th July
14:00
Monday 10th July
19:30
Wednesday 12th July
14:00
Wednesday 12th July
19:30
Thursday 13th July
14:00
Thursday 13th July
19:30
Friday 14th July
19:30
Saturday 15th July
19:00
Sunday 16th July
18:00
Monday 17th July
14:00
Monday 17th July
19:30
Tuesday 18th July
14:00
Tuesday 18th July
19:30
Wednesday 19th July
19:30
Thursday 20th July
14:00
Thursday 20th July
19:30
Friday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 22nd July
19:00
Sunday 23rd July
18:00
Monday 24th July
14:00
Tuesday 25th July
19:30
Thursday 27th July
14:00
Friday 28th July
19:30
Saturday 29th July
19:00
Sunday 30th July
18:00