Run time: 89 mins

The White Cliffs of Dover, an enduring symbol of British (isolated) nationalism, take on a different meaning in After Love.

 

Mary (Joanna Scanlan) is a British Muslim convert who is happily married to Ahmed (Nasser Memarzia). Fully integrated into his culture, she prays five times a day, wears traditional Pakistani dress, decorates her home with framed Islamic scripture and cooks aloo palak from scratch. When Ahmed dies suddenly Mary is devastated.


She goes through his belongings following his funeral and discovers that he had a secret family just across the Channel. Unable to go on without fully knowing the truth about the man she adored, she travels to Calais, leaving the collapsing cliffs in her wake.


Writer/director Aleem Khan’s quietly tragic script is brought to life through Scanlan’s powerhouse performance, with her heart-wrenching depiction of grief and vulnerability. Khan builds dramatic tension by letting the audience know more than certain characters, as we watch them edge closer to the truth. The images of Mary and the white cliffs of Dover will stay with you long after the credits have rolled. (Jack Whiting) One not to miss in our (dedicated) international Monday slot. But keep an eye on World films throughout every week.


Monday 5th July
07:30 pm
Friday 25th June
19:30
Thursday 15th July
19:30
Saturday 26th June
14:00
Friday 30th July
14:00
Sunday 27th June
18:00
Monday 28th June
19:30
Tuesday 29th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 30th June
14:00
Wednesday 30th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Saturday 3rd July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
19:30
Thursday 8th July
19:30
Sunday 11th July
18:00
Tuesday 13th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 14th July
14:00
Wednesday 14th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 20th July
19:30
Wednesday 21st July
14:00
Wednesday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 24th July
19:00
Monday 26th July
19:30
Wednesday 28th July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
19:30