Run time: 117 mins

Cord Jefferson’s terrific take on societal pretences in the face of political correctness.


University professor Thelonious "Monk" Ellison (Jeffrey Wright) escapes his fragile, easily offended students to visit his family in Boston. However, he soon finds himself thrown into the middle of family issues with sister Lisa, combative newly single brother Cliff and their mother Agnes. When his publisher asks him to write an obviously "Black" novel like hotshot author Sintara, whose new book is titled We’s Lives in Da Ghetto, Monk crafts a faux, cliched urban novel in frustration that inadvertently becomes a sensation.


Grounding its humour in earthy emotion and wryly honest performances, Jefferson’s stinging commentary highlights the arrogance of those with financial power, critiquing the dumbing down of society through art deemed overly important by critics. Wright’s brilliant portrayal of Monk is an obvious stand out but both Sterling K. Brown Brown and Tracee Ellis Ross respectively deserve huge credit as the delightfully disruptive Cliff and feisty Lisa.


In a narrative that cleverly exposes clichés, media missteps and Hollywood’s superficial nods to black culture, American Fiction ultimately asks whether such works challenge or perpetuate stereotypes, all while emphasising that black artists speak to broader audiences


Thursday 14th March
02:00 pm
Thursday 14th March
07:30 pm
Thursday 22nd February
19:30
Tuesday 27th February
14:00
Wednesday 28th February
19:30
Friday 23rd February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 5th March
14:00
Tuesday 5th March
19:30
Saturday 24th February
14:00
Saturday 24th February
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 9th March
19:00
Sunday 25th February
18:00
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 28th February
14:00
SOLD OUT
Thursday 21st March
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 21st March
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 26th February
14:00
Monday 26th February
19:30
Monday 11th March
14:00
Monday 11th March
19:30
Friday 1st March
14:00
Saturday 2nd March
19:00
Sunday 3rd March
18:00
Monday 4th March
14:00
Wednesday 6th March
14:00
Sunday 24th March
18:00
Saturday 2nd March
14:00
Monday 4th March
19:30
Friday 8th March
14:00
Friday 8th March
19:30
Wednesday 6th March
19:30
Thursday 7th March
14:00
Thursday 7th March
19:30
Saturday 9th March
14:00
Tuesday 12th March
14:00
Tuesday 12th March
19:30
Wednesday 13th March
14:00
Wednesday 13th March
19:30
Thursday 14th March
14:00
Thursday 14th March
19:30
Friday 15th March
14:00
Friday 15th March
19:30
Saturday 16th March
19:00
Tuesday 19th March
14:00
Sunday 17th March
18:00
Monday 18th March
14:00
Wednesday 20th March
14:00
Wednesday 20th March
19:30
Friday 22nd March
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 22nd March
19:30
SOLD OUT
Monday 25th March
14:00
Monday 25th March
19:30
Tuesday 26th March
14:00
Tuesday 26th March
19:30
Wednesday 27th March
14:00
Wednesday 27th March
19:30
Thursday 28th March
14:00
Thursday 28th March
19:30