Run time: 106 mins

A striking exploration of the highs and lows of US society, American Utopia is grounded in one overall vision; to simply have people performing for people. Introducing each musical number, Byrne takes us on a journey into our attitudes and perceptions. As he speaks directly to the audience or breaks into choreographed song, Bryne is accompanied by a group of 11 lively singers, musicians and dancers. The stage is simple but makes incredible use of inventive lighting and textures.


Songs included here range from Talking Head classics like Once in a Lifetime and Road to Nowhere to more recent hits like 2004’s Lazy. But it is so much more than a greatest hits package. A superb performance of Janelle Monae’s Hell You Talmbout is the films stunning centrepiece, expertly augmented by Lee.


Jonathan Demme’s Stop Making Sense, his movie of an iconic 1983 Talking Heads live show is considered one of, if not the greatest concert films of all time. Elegant and exciting, American Utopia can proudly sit alongside as a unique, inimitable triumph. (Chris Coetsee) Thanks Chris, yes about time we screened Stop Making Sense – Look Out…


Tuesday 27th July
07:30 pm
Friday 25th June
19:30
Thursday 15th July
19:30
Saturday 26th June
14:00
Friday 30th July
14:00
Sunday 27th June
18:00
Monday 28th June
19:30
Tuesday 29th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 30th June
14:00
Wednesday 30th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Saturday 3rd July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
19:30
Thursday 8th July
19:30
Sunday 11th July
18:00
Tuesday 13th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 14th July
14:00
Wednesday 14th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 20th July
19:30
Wednesday 21st July
14:00
Wednesday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 24th July
19:00
Monday 26th July
19:30
Wednesday 28th July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
19:30