Run time: 118 mins

Ammonite must be the most sensually alive British picture since Francis Lee’s debut, God’s Own Country. It’s the kind of film that does things to your fingertips, and makes you want to buy candles.


Mary (Kate Winslet) is not quite living the life of esteem and acknowledgment she deserves, toiling away on the brutishly windy coast of Lyme Regis, caring for her sickly mother (Gemma Jones) and selling shiny souvenirs to passing tourists. It’s a stable if not impoverished existence.


The arrival of Charlotte (Saoirse Ronan) and her husband, Roderick (James McArdle) will upend everything. He asks Mary to look after his wife; she’s sickly and needs the fresh sea air. Mary grudgingly agrees, and soon the two women become interested in each other.

Ammonite: taken from spiraling fossil shells, commits itself to exploring a secret affair, which with its period trappings and local’s (predictable) misogynistic asides – stands no chance.


One thing’s for sure, our lust for lesbian period dramas hasn’t dulled in the slightest.

We haven’t seen the last of films like Ammonite. When the quality is this good, long may they continue. (research Jack Whiting) That aside. There are many worldwide tales still to tell, aside easy, now tired, preachy, often humourless trend-mill yarns.


Thursday 1st July
07:30 pm
Friday 25th June
19:30
Thursday 15th July
19:30
Saturday 26th June
14:00
Friday 30th July
14:00
Sunday 27th June
18:00
Monday 28th June
19:30
Tuesday 29th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 30th June
14:00
Wednesday 30th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Saturday 3rd July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
19:30
Thursday 8th July
19:30
Sunday 11th July
18:00
Tuesday 13th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 14th July
14:00
Wednesday 14th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 20th July
19:30
Wednesday 21st July
14:00
Wednesday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 24th July
19:00
Monday 26th July
19:30
Wednesday 28th July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
19:30