Run time: 88 mins

Seth Rogan does the double in this unexpectedly poignant comedy about family and legacies.


Rogen plays Herschel Greenbaum, a ditch-digger from Eastern Europe who immigrates to Brooklyn at the turn of the 20th century. Herschel goes to work in a pickle factory killing rats, where he falls into the pickle vat and is sealed inside. A century later, a drone disturbs the vat and Herschel emerges, fully preserved, alive and confused. The doctors find his only living relative, great-grandson Ben (also Rogen), a freelance web app developer and a series of time-traveling mishaps and misunderstandings ensue.


Both characters are brilliantly performed by Rogan who, despite the uneasy social satire and fantasy mix, does a great job of getting to the emotional heartstrings of the story and is on typically excellent form as the sharp-witted funnyman he’s always been. It’s one of his best roles(s) to date.


There’s a great fan-made trailer for Titanic 2 floating around on YouTube where Jack is resurrected from frozen ice a century later. Until that enters production, this is the only cross-generation comedy you’ll need. (Research Chris Coetsee)


Thursday 24th September
07:30 pm
Friday 25th September
07:30 pm
Tuesday 22nd September
19:30
Thursday 24th September
19:30
Friday 25th September
19:30
Saturday 26th September
14:00
Tuesday 27th October
14:00
Sunday 27th September
18:00
Wednesday 30th September
14:00
Wednesday 30th September
19:30
Wednesday 7th October
14:00
Wednesday 7th October
19:30
Thursday 1st October
19:30
Thursday 8th October
14:00
Saturday 3rd October
14:00
Monday 26th October
14:00
Monday 5th October
14:00
Monday 5th October
19:30
Tuesday 6th October
14:00
Tuesday 6th October
19:30
Saturday 10th October
14:00
Thursday 29th October
14:00
Sunday 11th October
18:00
Monday 12th October
14:00
Tuesday 13th October
14:00
Tuesday 13th October
19:30
Wednesday 14th October
14:00
Wednesday 14th October
19:30
Thursday 15th October
14:00
Friday 23rd October
19:30
Friday 16th October
19:30
Saturday 17th October
14:00
Wednesday 28th October
14:00
Sunday 18th October
18:00
Monday 19th October
14:00
Wednesday 21st October
14:00
Monday 26th October
19:30
Wednesday 21st October
19:30
Thursday 22nd October
14:00
Thursday 22nd October
19:30
Saturday 24th October
14:00
Sunday 25th October
18:00