Run time: 117 mins

Thomas Vinterberg’s rousing film, reuniting him with actor Mads Mikkelsen after 2012’s The Hunt, is a slightly flippant tragicomedy of booze and midlife defiance.


Four men — Martin (Mikkelsen), Tommy (Thomas Bo Larsen), Nikolaj (Magnus Millang), and Peter (Lars Ranthe) — are teachers at the same school. They lead relatively stable lives. Too stable, in fact, and things have gone stale for everyone.

One night, out celebrating Nikolaj’s 40th birthday as a quartet, they start to talk about the work of a well-known psychiatrist, Finn Skårderud, who proposed the theory that the human body is naturally 0.05 percent deficient in alcohol. Could life be better if they make up the difference? The theory, of course, is soon tested.

The film’s exuberance comes from moments of unpredictability, when the characters teeter on the precipice of either ecstasy or injury. It helps that Mikkelsen literally throws himself into the role; he’s all drunk swagger and wobbly limbs.

The Danish title is “Druk”, a term which is maybe best translated by adding the letter N before the one at the end. Another Round is as much bursting with warmth and wit as it is alcohol. Skål! (Jack Whiting)


Saturday 24th July
07:00 pm
Monday 26th July
07:30 pm
Friday 25th June
19:30
Thursday 15th July
19:30
Saturday 26th June
14:00
Friday 30th July
14:00
Sunday 27th June
18:00
Monday 28th June
19:30
Tuesday 29th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 30th June
14:00
Wednesday 30th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Saturday 3rd July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
19:30
Thursday 8th July
19:30
Sunday 11th July
18:00
Tuesday 13th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 14th July
14:00
Wednesday 14th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 20th July
19:30
Wednesday 21st July
14:00
Wednesday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 24th July
19:00
Monday 26th July
19:30
Wednesday 28th July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
19:30