Run time: 91 mins

Filmmaker Christos Nikou’s absurdist Greek drama explores the fundamentals of human identity and how each of us can fit into society.


As a global pandemic inflicts sudden amnesia, 40-something Aris (Servetalis) loses all his memories while riding on a bus. Carrying no identification, he’s assigned the number 14843 and enrolled in the New Identity programme to build a life for himself. Aris knows nothing about himself other than that he loves apples. But little things catch his eye, and he has flickers of memory that he doesn’t understand. As an empty canvas, he will now need to create context and memories for himself. Slowly, he begins pursuing skills and interests, gathering memories, meeting people and rediscovering life.


Seemingly set in an alternate version of the 1980s, Apples is shot in a way that’s both strikingly visual and effectively dull. It takes on an almost soulful feel as it explores Aris’ desire to unlock the secrets of his own identity. It’s fascinating to watch him find tiny slivers of himself. A unique, peculiar, sad and yet hopeful little film that feels perfect for this very moment. (Chris Coetsee)


If you can stand it or wish your own memory of these last 14 empty orchard months, erased – Come.


Monday 19th July
07:30 pm
Friday 25th June
19:30
Thursday 15th July
19:30
Saturday 26th June
14:00
Friday 30th July
14:00
Sunday 27th June
18:00
Monday 28th June
19:30
Tuesday 29th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 30th June
14:00
Wednesday 30th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Saturday 3rd July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
19:30
Thursday 8th July
19:30
Sunday 11th July
18:00
Tuesday 13th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 14th July
14:00
Wednesday 14th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 20th July
19:30
Wednesday 21st July
14:00
Wednesday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 24th July
19:00
Monday 26th July
19:30
Wednesday 28th July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
19:30