Run time: 133 mins

Featuring an outstanding lead performance from Zhao Tao, Ash Is Purest White is a sweeping (and highly compelling) story of love, vengeance and revolution.


Moving from 2001 to 2006 and finally 2018, the Chinese auteur’s latest film tracks the turbulent relationship between Qiao (Tao) and the mobster Bin (Liao Fan). In 2001 Bin is attacked by a rival gang, Qiao saves him. By not snitching, she takes the rap Bin and the gun and gets a five years inside. Jumping ahead to 2006, we find ourselves in the most thrilling chapter as Qiao gets out of jail, and chases the now disappeared Bin. After instructing her at the beginning about ‘jianghu’, the code of “righteousness and loyalty” in the criminal underworld, she is the one upholding it after taking the rap for him. Putting the art of con into con-artist, she survives through a series of witty and inventive scams, such as manipulating cheating men. This epic tale explores the transience of relationships in the rapidly changing culture in cities of a constantly shifting new-world China.  (research Rachel Williams) It sounds like a jumble, but the film unravels it beautifully. Don’t miss it.


Monday 17th June
07:30 pm
Sunday 16th June
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 18th June
14:00
Friday 21st June
14:00
Tuesday 18th June
19:30
Wednesday 19th June
14:00
Wednesday 19th June
19:30
Thursday 20th June
14:00
Thursday 20th June
19:30
Thursday 27th June
14:00
Friday 21st June
19:30
Saturday 22nd June
19:00
Monday 24th June
14:00
Tuesday 25th June
19:30
Monday 24th June
19:30
Tuesday 25th June
14:00
Wednesday 26th June
14:00
Wednesday 26th June
19:30
Thursday 27th June
19:30
Friday 28th June
14:00
SOLD OUT
Friday 28th June
19:30
SOLD OUT
Saturday 29th June
19:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 30th June
18:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 29th June
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS