Run time: 90 mins

Jim Archer’s directorial debut is a heart-warming tale of an oddball inventor’s bond with his animatronic alter ego.  


Brian and Charles first emerged as a short in 2017, written by David Earl and Chris Haywood. Pals of Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant, their combination of caustic wit with kooky, introspective characters was familiarly British yet refreshingly inspired. Its feature-length extension by no means dilutes its charm.


With a mockumentary approach, it centres upon Brian: living alone in a decrepit farmhouse in the Welsh countryside, he whiles away his time constructing a number of quirky inventions – an egg-belt, a pinecone bag, and a flying bicycle. When he stumbles across a fly-tipped mannequin head and a washing machine it prompts his most ambitious idea to date: to build his very own robot. The real challenges in his project lie not in creating the animatron, however, but in looking after him.


Though the overall premise sounds simple, it’s not a film to be underestimated in its effect. It’s got all the car chases of an action film, the meet-cutes of a romcom, and the emotional depth of any family drama. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and you’ll be endlessly charmed.


Wednesday 10th August
07:30 pm
Thursday 11th August
14:00
Thursday 11th August
19:30
Wednesday 24th August
19:30
Friday 12th August
14:00
Saturday 20th August
19:00
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 12th August
19:30
Saturday 13th August
14:00
Saturday 13th August
19:00
Thursday 18th August
14:00
Friday 26th August
14:00
Sunday 14th August
18:00
Monday 15th August
14:00
Tuesday 16th August
14:00
Tuesday 16th August
19:30
Sunday 21st August
18:00
Tuesday 30th August
14:00
Friday 19th August
14:00
Saturday 20th August
14:00
Thursday 25th August
14:00
Tuesday 23rd August
19:30
Friday 26th August
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 27th August
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 28th August
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 27th August
14:00
Wednesday 31st August
14:00
Wednesday 31st August
19:30