Run time: 106 mins

In a biopic which is both humorous and melancholic, Melissa McCarthy and Richard E. Grant are partners in crime in this compelling tale of literary forgery.


An adaptation of Lee Israel’s confessional memoir, McCarthy’s nuanced performance makes a hero out of an otherwise abrasive, closed-off character with only enough love to give wholeheartedly to her cat. Having already written a few celebrity biographies, it’s 1991 in New York and Lee Israel’s writing is no longer in vogue. After being fired from her day job, an accumulation of unpaid rent and an ill cat in need of pricy medication results in a financial conundrum. In a fateful moment, Lee comes across an original letter by actress and comedian Fanny Brice. Stealing and selling the letter to a book dealer, Lee turns her hand to a different type of writing: forging letters by deceased stars. Forming a friendship over one too many shared whiskeys in a gay bar, with the flamboyant drug-dealer Jack Hock (Grant) they join forces in a scam which becomes increasingly risky. Tenderly conveying their shared loneliness, McCarthy and Grant’s chemistry makes the duo’s fascinating alliance all the more heartwarming.

(research Rachel Williams). Much hype. Come and see why?


Thursday 21st March
02:00 pm
Thursday 21st March
07:30 pm
Tuesday 26th March
02:00 pm
Wednesday 20th March
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 27th March
19:30
SOLD OUT
Sunday 31st March
13:00
SOLD OUT
Thursday 21st March
14:00
Thursday 21st March
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Tuesday 26th March
14:00
Friday 22nd March
14:00
Saturday 23rd March
19:00
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 29th March
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 22nd March
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 28th March
14:00
Thursday 28th March
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 24th March
13:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 24th March
18:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 25th March
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 26th March
19:30
Wednesday 27th March
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 30th March
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS