Run time: 119 mins

Armando Iannucci combines wit and satire with an A-list cast to create the perfect Dickens film adaptation


Returning after our gifted anniversary preview in December (followed by a relaxed easy-going Q&A with Armando, who brought his whole family..!). The film went down a storm with The Rex audience ahead of its nationwide release. Its diverse casting, with the remarkable Dev Patel as David, and interesting stylistic touches set the film apart from previous adaptations of the novel. Condensing a 600+ page tome into a fast-paced tragicomedy, we follow David’s tumultuous journey from birth to adulthood, as he navigates various obstacles as an impoverished orphan to a burgeoning writer in Victorian England. Playing David’s Aunt Betsey and Mr Dick, Tilda Swinton and Hugh Laurie excel as an eccentric double act, reflecting both the absurdity and charm of Dickensian characterisation. Ben Whishaw’s performance as the manipulative Uriah Heep and Peter Capaldi as Mr. Micawber add to the fun. During his Q&A, Iannucci said “I was always struck by how fresh and contemporary Dickens felt and I think we’ve packaged him away as some Victorian fusty long-winded novelist.” Not to be missed, the film captures the spirit of Dickens’ masterful (and youthful- mischief) storytelling. (Rachel Williams). Must not miss.


Saturday 29th February
07:00 pm
Wednesday 4th March
02:00 pm
Tuesday 24th March
02:00 pm
Saturday 28th March
07:00 pm
Thursday 27th February
14:00
Thursday 27th February
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 28th February
14:00
SOLD OUT
Friday 28th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Saturday 29th February
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 29th February
19:00
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 4th March
14:00
Tuesday 24th March
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 28th March
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 1st March
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 5th March
14:00
Saturday 7th March
19:00
Monday 2nd March
14:00
Monday 2nd March
19:30
Tuesday 3rd March
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Monday 9th March
14:00
Wednesday 18th March
14:00
Wednesday 18th March
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Monday 23rd March
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 4th March
19:30
Thursday 12th March
14:00
Friday 6th March
14:00
Friday 6th March
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 10th March
14:00
Tuesday 10th March
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 11th March
14:00
Wednesday 11th March
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 13th March
14:00
Friday 13th March
19:30
Saturday 14th March
19:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 16th March
19:30
SOLD OUT
Friday 20th March
14:00
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 24th March
19:30
SOLD OUT
Sunday 15th March
18:00
Monday 16th March
14:00
Tuesday 17th March
14:00
Tuesday 17th March
19:30
Thursday 19th March
14:00
Sunday 22nd March
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 25th March
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 25th March
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 26th March
14:00
Friday 27th March
14:00
Sunday 29th March
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 31st March
14:00
Tuesday 31st March
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 30th March
14:00
Monday 30th March
19:30