Run time: 152 mins

It is widely known that Stephen King dismissed Stanley Kubrick’s loose interpretation of The Shining, and yet the legacy of both masterminds seeps into this sprawling sequel.


Danny Torrence (Ewan McGregor) is now a fortysomething washout trying to drown away his haunted-hotel PTSD in booze, sex, and bathroom brawls. A sympathetic AA sponsor steers him to a job at a hospice where he uses his ‘shine’ ability to ease patients gently into that good night. He’s not alone in his abilities, though, as a young girl named Abra (Kyliegh Curran) is coming into her own and crossing psychic paths with a roving band of vampiric goons, led by Rebecca Ferguson, who feed off those with the shine.


Because of the lasting impact of movie Shining, writer/director Mike Flannagan had the unenviable task of acknowledging both camps; making a faithful adaptation of Doctor Sleep (King’s 2013 novel) and a worthy sequel to Kubrick’s classic. It is with great relief, then, that he has, for the most part, succeeded. Though it doesn’t use any footage from The Shining, it does recreate the walls of the Overlook Hotel to haunting perfection, therefore preserving the (un)holy chalice of horror-cinema. (Jack Whiting)


Friday 13th December
02:00 pm
Friday 13th December
07:30 pm
Friday 6th December
19:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 7th December
19:00
SINGLE SEATS
Sunday 8th December
18:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 7th December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 9th December
19:30
Tuesday 10th December
14:00
Tuesday 10th December
19:30
Wednesday 11th December
14:00
Wednesday 11th December
19:30
Tuesday 17th December
19:30
Thursday 12th December
14:00
Thursday 12th December
19:30
Friday 13th December
14:00
Friday 13th December
19:30
Saturday 14th December
14:00
Saturday 14th December
19:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 15th December
18:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 28th December
19:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 16th December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 17th December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 18th December
14:00
Wednesday 18th December
19:30
Thursday 19th December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 19th December
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 20th December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 20th December
19:30
SOLD OUT
Saturday 21st December
19:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 21st December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 22nd December
18:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 23rd December
19:30
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 24th December
17:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 23rd December
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 27th December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 28th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 31st December
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS