Run time: 113 mins

Hilmar Oddsson’s poignant yet darkly humorous journey masterfully merges tragedy with farcical absurdity.


Set against the breathtaking backdrop of Iceland’s Westfjords, captured in stunning black and white cinematography, the film follows the dour and isolated Jón as he embarks on a life-changing drive across the country with his late mother’s corpse, accompanied only by his dog Bresnef. As Jón confronts the absurdity of his existence and begins to challenge the constraints of his upbringing, the film delicately balances moments of melancholy with deadpan humour.


Drawing inspiration from the styles of Ingmar Bergman and Aki Kaurismaki, Oddsson crafts a narrative that skilfully shifts between these comedic and dramatic tones, building a complex collage of inner reflections and sentiments.


Þröstur Leó Gunnarsson delivers a nuanced performance as Jón, gradually softening and finding solace amidst the desolation of his surroundings. Kristbjörg Kjeld adds depth to the narrative as Jón’s cantankerous yet strangely wise mother, whose presence continues to influence him even in death.


Visually arresting and emotionally resonant, this is both a treat for the eyes and the heart.


Monday 22nd April
07:30 pm
Wednesday 17th April
19:30
Saturday 20th April
19:00
Thursday 18th April
14:00
Thursday 18th April
19:30
Friday 19th April
14:00
Friday 19th April
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 23rd April
14:00
Tuesday 23rd April
19:30
Thursday 25th April
14:00
Thursday 25th April
19:30
Sunday 28th April
18:00
Monday 29th April
14:00
Tuesday 30th April
14:00
Tuesday 30th April
19:30