Run time: 93 mins

Footage from the French volcanologists Katia and Maurice Krafft explodes upon the Rex screen with staggering power.


Katia and Maurice Krafft were drawn together by their joint passion for volcanoes. Their lives were marked by them: they married after an expedition to Iceland, honeymooned on a volcanic island, and eventually died in an eruption in Japan.


They began their work in a period when volcanoes were rarely researched in-person, their unpredictability deemed too hazardous to guarantee the safety of the researchers. Ignoring the authorities’ concerns, together they accumulated hours of filmed footage and conducted experiments with the aim of increasing global knowledge of these landscapes.


The records form the basis of director Sara Dosa’s experimental communication of their story, intermixed with television interviews and animated segments. The Krafft’s self-shot scenes are by far the most impressive of all of Dosa’s mediums – the scale and scope of them is seismic and it explodes through the screen.


That it’s not fiction begs belief, especially with such other-worldly visuals. But at the heart of the film is a story that’s intensely human: of two people, driven by their bravery, dedication, and passion.


Thursday 18th August
07:30 pm
Thursday 11th August
14:00
Thursday 11th August
19:30
Wednesday 24th August
19:30
Friday 12th August
14:00
Saturday 20th August
19:00
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 12th August
19:30
Saturday 13th August
14:00
Saturday 13th August
19:00
Thursday 18th August
14:00
Friday 26th August
14:00
Sunday 14th August
18:00
Monday 15th August
14:00
Tuesday 16th August
14:00
Tuesday 16th August
19:30
Sunday 21st August
18:00
Tuesday 30th August
14:00
Friday 19th August
14:00
Saturday 20th August
14:00
Thursday 25th August
14:00
Tuesday 23rd August
19:30
Friday 26th August
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 27th August
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 28th August
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 27th August
14:00
Wednesday 31st August
14:00
Wednesday 31st August
19:30