Run time: 100 mins

Escape to a Portuguese resort, without having to risk actually travelling, through  this Isabelle (extraordinary) Huppert-led family saga

 

Taking place on a single day in a picturesque mountain village, famous French actress Frankie (the gloriously unsentimental Huppert) has gathered her family for a summer holiday, knowing it will likely be her last. Despite the tranquil location, the family members work through their struggles with love, marriage and money.


Members of the group include Jimmy (the one-and-only Brendan Gleeson) Frankie’s husband who is processing the thought of losing his soulmate. Frankie’s son from her first marriage, Paul (Jérémie Renier) who has tension with step-sibling Sylvia (Vinette Robinson). She is contemplating the future of her rocky marriage with Ian (Ariyon Bakare) while Frankie is scheming to set up her son with hair stylist Ilene (Marisa Tomei). Exploring the meaning of life while maintaining a light touch, Huppert grounds the ensemble with her command over a character preparing for her final close-up.


Writer-director Ira Sachs is known for his gentle human dramas, and Frankie feels like an American version of an Éric Rohmer film, revealing the nature of its characters through intimate conversations rather than sweeping gestures. (Jack Whiting)

A fabulous unmelodramatic melodrama. Don’t miss.


Wednesday 28th July
07:30 pm
Friday 25th June
19:30
Thursday 15th July
19:30
Saturday 26th June
14:00
Friday 30th July
14:00
Sunday 27th June
18:00
Monday 28th June
19:30
Tuesday 29th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 30th June
14:00
Wednesday 30th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Saturday 3rd July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
19:30
Thursday 8th July
19:30
Sunday 11th July
18:00
Tuesday 13th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 14th July
14:00
Wednesday 14th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 20th July
19:30
Wednesday 21st July
14:00
Wednesday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 24th July
19:00
Monday 26th July
19:30
Wednesday 28th July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
19:30