Run time: 108 mins

Anthony Hopkins continues his strong, late-career

run of films in Matthew Brown’s thought-provoking

drama.

It’s a few days after the start of World War II. Sigmund

Freud is in his London chambers locked in a goodnatured

verbal duel with author C.S. Lewis (Matthew

Goode) over why he insists on the existence of God.

Based on the play by Mark St. Germain, who co-wrote

with director Brown, the collision of ideas produces

verbal fireworks as Freud laments his cancer

diagnosis in this fictitious encounter.

Everything takes place with the impending war as a

backdrop, with grim radio news updates punctuating

the visit and offering context for some of the

discussion. The two men’s outwardly polite argument

is augmented by cutaway scenes which illustrate or

explain what they are discussing or provide insight

into the mind or thoughts of a character.

At it’s heart are two exquisite performances. Hopkins’

fictionalised Freud is a powerful, multi-level portrait

that reveals both Freud’s genius and his many human

failings. Goode as Lewis gives a more restrained

performance but a moving and effective one. An

imaginative theoretical chess-match between two of

the greatest minds of the 20th century.

Friday 28th June
02:00 pm
Sunday 30th June
06:00 pm
Friday 5th July
02:00 pm
Saturday 22nd June
19:00
Saturday 6th July
14:00
Sunday 23rd June
18:00
Monday 24th June
14:00
Tuesday 25th June
14:00
Tuesday 25th June
19:30
Tuesday 2nd July
14:00
Tuesday 2nd July
19:30
Wednesday 26th June
14:00
Wednesday 26th June
19:30
Thursday 27th June
14:00
Thursday 27th June
19:30
Thursday 4th July
14:00
Thursday 4th July
19:30
Sunday 14th July
18:00
Friday 28th June
14:00
Sunday 30th June
18:00
Friday 5th July
14:00
Friday 28th June
19:30
Saturday 29th June
19:00
Monday 1st July
14:00
Monday 1st July
19:30
Wednesday 3rd July
14:00
Wednesday 3rd July
19:30
Friday 5th July
19:30
Saturday 6th July
19:00
Monday 8th July
14:00
Tuesday 16th July
14:00
Tuesday 16th July
19:30
Tuesday 9th July
14:00
Tuesday 9th July
19:30
Wednesday 10th July
14:00
Wednesday 10th July
19:30
Thursday 11th July
14:00
Thursday 11th July
19:30
Thursday 18th July
14:00
Friday 12th July
19:30
Saturday 13th July
14:00
Saturday 13th July
19:00
Tuesday 30th July
14:00
Tuesday 30th July
19:30
Monday 15th July
14:00
Monday 15th July
19:30
Wednesday 17th July
14:00
Wednesday 17th July
19:30
Friday 19th July
14:00
Sunday 21st July
18:00
Monday 22nd July
14:00
Friday 19th July
19:30
Saturday 20th July
19:00
Tuesday 23rd July
14:00
Thursday 25th July
14:00
Thursday 25th July
19:30
Sunday 28th July
18:00
Saturday 20th July
14:00
Monday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 24th July
14:00
Wednesday 24th July
19:30
Friday 26th July
14:00
Saturday 27th July
19:00
Saturday 27th July
14:00
Wednesday 31st July
14:00
Wednesday 31st July
19:30