Run time: 94 mins

Writer-director Panah Panahi makes a striking debut in this beautifully acted Iranian road trip drama.


Heading north from Tehran, Farid is driving his mother, father and younger brother; a hyperactive bundle of opinions and nonstop activity. His mother is concealing the nature of the trip from the youngster; the truth is that they’re taking Farid to be smuggled over the border to safety. As they bond over memories of the past and grapple with fears of the unknown, they must all prepare for a life that will never be the same once they get home.


The four actors give remarkably thoughtful performances, balanced with the characters’ specific senses of humour. Stuck together in their car, they are each revealed to be complex, observant and deeply emotional, even as they maintain their ability to make each other laugh. As Panahi quietly captures the shifting landscape outside, various stops along the road also introduce an assortment of random people who add another layer of humour and irony to the situation. Exploring life in present-day Iran while also touching on universal human themes, it’s a charming, sharp-witted and deeply moving 90 minutes.


Monday 22nd August
07:30 pm
Thursday 11th August
14:00
Thursday 11th August
19:30
Wednesday 24th August
19:30
Friday 12th August
14:00
Saturday 20th August
19:00
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 12th August
19:30
Saturday 13th August
14:00
Saturday 13th August
19:00
Thursday 18th August
14:00
Friday 26th August
14:00
Sunday 14th August
18:00
Monday 15th August
14:00
Tuesday 16th August
14:00
Tuesday 16th August
19:30
Sunday 21st August
18:00
Tuesday 30th August
14:00
Friday 19th August
14:00
Saturday 20th August
14:00
Thursday 25th August
14:00
Tuesday 23rd August
19:30
Friday 26th August
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 27th August
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 28th August
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 27th August
14:00
Wednesday 31st August
14:00
Wednesday 31st August
19:30