Run time: 101 mins

Annette Bening and Bill Nighy star in this poignant depiction of how longtime partners can drift apart without either fully knowing it.


Written and directed by Oscar nominated screenwriter William Nicholson (Gladiator), Hope Gap begins as a portrait of marriage as living hell.


Grace is approaching her 29th wedding anniversary with Edward. She’s a homemaker while he writes and researches Wikipedia entries. It’s clear he’s the harried husband who can never make Grace happy and she’s the scolding bully; demanding and self-serving. When Edward decides to walk away from his domestic torture, Grace’s egotism and neuroticism are exposed as she struggles to come to terms with both her and Edward’s new and separate lives.


Bening, quietly in the running for star of the century, proves you can hand her just about anything and she’ll turn in a performance so ferocious and original that it’ll completely transform a film. Coupled with sweeping landscape photography, she turns the crisp, cold beauty of Seaford, Sussex into a metaphor for Grace’s chilly marriage.


Entertainment Weekly described this as Marriage Story for boomers, with only one side of the story to tell. Hers is, at least, a pleasure to watch. (Research Chris Coetsee)


Sunday 27th September
06:00 pm
Wednesday 30th September
02:00 pm
Wednesday 30th September
07:30 pm
Wednesday 7th October
02:00 pm
Wednesday 7th October
07:30 pm
Tuesday 22nd September
19:30
Thursday 24th September
19:30
Friday 25th September
19:30
Saturday 26th September
14:00
Tuesday 27th October
14:00
Sunday 27th September
18:00
Wednesday 30th September
14:00
Wednesday 30th September
19:30
Wednesday 7th October
14:00
Wednesday 7th October
19:30
Thursday 1st October
19:30
Thursday 8th October
14:00
Saturday 3rd October
14:00
Monday 26th October
14:00
Monday 5th October
14:00
Monday 5th October
19:30
Tuesday 6th October
14:00
Tuesday 6th October
19:30
Saturday 10th October
14:00
Thursday 29th October
14:00
Sunday 11th October
18:00
Monday 12th October
14:00
Tuesday 13th October
14:00
Tuesday 13th October
19:30
Wednesday 14th October
14:00
Wednesday 14th October
19:30
Thursday 15th October
14:00
Friday 23rd October
19:30
Friday 16th October
19:30
Saturday 17th October
14:00
Wednesday 28th October
14:00
Sunday 18th October
18:00
Monday 19th October
14:00
Wednesday 21st October
14:00
Monday 26th October
19:30
Wednesday 21st October
19:30
Thursday 22nd October
14:00
Thursday 22nd October
19:30
Saturday 24th October
14:00
Sunday 25th October
18:00