Run time: 131 mins

Alice Rohrwacher creates a magical fairytale about

a group of tomb raiders, anchored by a soulful

performance from Josh O’Connor.

Arthur (O’Connor) is a wayward British archaeologist

in Eighties Tuscany, who’s betrayed his profession

and fallen in with a band of local graverobbers. They

rely on his skill with a “dowsing rod”, a twig that

twitches when it’s near to the buried dead.

When we first see him, he has just been released

from an Italian prison. In the course of what were

once his entirely respectable studies in this

region, he befriended a local named Flora (Isabella

Rossellini) and fell in love with her daughter

Beniamina (Yile Vianello). But Beniamina is gone

– dead, we understand – and Arthur’s agonised

longing for her, his need to be reunited with her in

the spirit world, has fused with his expertise into a

criminal superpower.

La Chimera is a film that utterly occupies its own

fictional space; it expresses its eccentric romance

in its own fluent movie dialect. Rohrwacher makes

connections through something more primal than

logic, a flow of images that feels surprising but always

intuitive, in the way a dream does.

Sunday 7th July
06:00 pm
Saturday 22nd June
19:00
Saturday 6th July
14:00
Sunday 23rd June
18:00
Monday 24th June
14:00
Tuesday 25th June
14:00
Tuesday 25th June
19:30
Tuesday 2nd July
14:00
Tuesday 2nd July
19:30
Wednesday 26th June
14:00
Wednesday 26th June
19:30
Thursday 27th June
14:00
Thursday 27th June
19:30
Thursday 4th July
14:00
Thursday 4th July
19:30
Sunday 14th July
18:00
Friday 28th June
14:00
Sunday 30th June
18:00
Friday 5th July
14:00
Friday 28th June
19:30
Saturday 29th June
19:00
Monday 1st July
14:00
Monday 1st July
19:30
Wednesday 3rd July
14:00
Wednesday 3rd July
19:30
Friday 5th July
19:30
Saturday 6th July
19:00
Monday 8th July
14:00
Tuesday 16th July
14:00
Tuesday 16th July
19:30
Tuesday 9th July
14:00
Tuesday 9th July
19:30
Wednesday 10th July
14:00
Wednesday 10th July
19:30
Thursday 11th July
14:00
Thursday 11th July
19:30
Thursday 18th July
14:00
Friday 12th July
19:30
Saturday 13th July
14:00
Saturday 13th July
19:00
Tuesday 30th July
14:00
Tuesday 30th July
19:30
Monday 15th July
14:00
Monday 15th July
19:30
Wednesday 17th July
14:00
Wednesday 17th July
19:30
Friday 19th July
14:00
Sunday 21st July
18:00
Monday 22nd July
14:00
Friday 19th July
19:30
Saturday 20th July
19:00
Tuesday 23rd July
14:00
Thursday 25th July
14:00
Thursday 25th July
19:30
Sunday 28th July
18:00
Saturday 20th July
14:00
Monday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 24th July
14:00
Wednesday 24th July
19:30
Friday 26th July
14:00
Saturday 27th July
19:00
Saturday 27th July
14:00
Wednesday 31st July
14:00
Wednesday 31st July
19:30