Run time: 106 mins

The French master Luc Besson came through with what is one of the oddest guardian-child relationships (who adopts who). In this his English language debut, Jean Reno plays Leon, the coolest assassin ever, with fantastic new (then) child-star: Natalie Portman as Mathilda.


At only 12-years-old, Mathilda returns one day from running an errand to find her dysfunctional, family wiped out after a corrupt undercover police raid, led by psychotic cop, Stansfield (a terrifying, Gary Oldman). As luck would have it, it turns out she lives next door to a very quiet assassin: Leon. Reluctantly he takes her in. Let the story begin.


The film has everything it needs to be an action thriller in every detail, high on emotion. Outstanding performances, mind-blowing action, loads of tension and violence, on top of which is a truly amazing screenplay.


“Having one career highlight performance in a film is a treat. Having three is just spoiling us” (Total Film)


“Reno’s performance of hangdog loyalty lends his character pleasing sympathy, while Besson’s heavily stylized direction builds tension around sexy violence.” (Film4) What a tepid writing for a film so hot.


The three performances are shining-brilliant from the start. One of the most thorough thrillers from the last 25 years.


Tuesday 29th September
07:30 pm
Tuesday 22nd September
19:30
Thursday 24th September
19:30
Friday 25th September
19:30
Saturday 26th September
14:00
Tuesday 27th October
14:00
Sunday 27th September
18:00
Wednesday 30th September
14:00
Wednesday 30th September
19:30
Wednesday 7th October
14:00
Wednesday 7th October
19:30
Thursday 1st October
19:30
Thursday 8th October
14:00
Saturday 3rd October
14:00
Monday 26th October
14:00
Monday 5th October
14:00
Monday 5th October
19:30
Tuesday 6th October
14:00
Tuesday 6th October
19:30
Saturday 10th October
14:00
Thursday 29th October
14:00
Sunday 11th October
18:00
Monday 12th October
14:00
Tuesday 13th October
14:00
Tuesday 13th October
19:30
Wednesday 14th October
14:00
Wednesday 14th October
19:30
Thursday 15th October
14:00
Friday 23rd October
19:30
Friday 16th October
19:30
Saturday 17th October
14:00
Wednesday 28th October
14:00
Sunday 18th October
18:00
Monday 19th October
14:00
Wednesday 21st October
14:00
Monday 26th October
19:30
Wednesday 21st October
19:30
Thursday 22nd October
14:00
Thursday 22nd October
19:30
Saturday 24th October
14:00
Sunday 25th October
18:00