Run time: 157 mins

Gaily referred to as ‘Lay Miz’ comes back to the Rex in its full Anglo-Oz-Yank whining glory on our sumptuous sound screen.

It has excited critics who didn’t like it, into waxing such things as “Even as a non-believer in this kind of ‘sung through’ musical, I was battered into submission and mesmerised. For dignity and intelligence it’s Hugh Jackman, with an unexpectedly vulnerable turn from grumpy old bear Russell Crowe…” (PB Guardian)

The stars have hyper-boasted about the miracle of their whinings recorded live on set as though they’d never heard of Fred Astaire or Sinatra/Crosby/Celeste Holm’s unforgettable High Society live routines. So, why let the short memory of cinematic history get in the way. Remember too The Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) created it (Trevor Nunn) at The Barbican in 1985 to scurvy reviews. They then took it, as is, to the West End where it went mad, servicing a million coach trips by an all-devouring Mammia audience. Cameron Macintosh jumped at it and the rest is… over acted, over emotional history, now in wobbly tonsil 3-D close-up with trillions in the bank for sweet Cameron. Hope the RSC got well paid plus a 10% royalty forever. Unlikely.      


Saturday 22nd August
07:00 pm
Saturday 1st August
19:00
Monday 31st August
19:30
Sunday 2nd August
18:00
Wednesday 5th August
14:00
Tuesday 4th August
19:30
Wednesday 12th August
14:00
Sunday 16th August
18:00
Friday 28th August
19:30
Wednesday 19th August
14:00
Wednesday 19th August
19:30
Wednesday 26th August
14:00
Wednesday 26th August
19:30