Run time: 102 mins

Bill Nighy is exceptional in this poignant reimagining of Kurosawa’s 1952 classic Ikiru.


In 1953 London, Mr. Williams runs the public works office in London’s County Hall with a team of loyal, intimidated bureaucrats. Like other departments, he mainly just pushes work along for someone else to deal with. Diagnosed with terminal cancer, he can’t bring himself to tell either his colleagues or his son and daughter-in-law, whom he has lived with since his wife died. Escaping to the seaside, a stranger provides an epiphany: Williams should begin living in whatever time he has left, perhaps creating a lasting legacy in the process.


A smart, delicate script by Kazuo Ishiguro complements a wonderful if unusually beefy performance from Nighy who is able to bring some powerfully emotional angles to the stiff-upper-lip Williams, while also adding moments of fragility and warm wit.


Packed with vivid themes that are understated to perfection, this is a film that rewards close attention with some powerful insights. What emerges is a bracing reminder to engage with life every day, and to avoid letting society’s rules and restrictions lead to lingering regrets.


Tuesday 6th December
02:00 pm
Monday 12th December
07:30 pm
Saturday 3rd December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 3rd December
19:00
Sunday 4th December
18:00
Friday 9th December
14:00
Monday 5th December
14:00
Tuesday 13th December
19:30
Wednesday 14th December
14:00
Sunday 18th December
18:00
Monday 5th December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 6th December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 12th December
19:30
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 6th December
19:30
Wednesday 7th December
14:00
Wednesday 7th December
19:30
Thursday 8th December
14:00
Saturday 10th December
14:00
Friday 23rd December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 10th December
19:00
Thursday 15th December
14:00
Sunday 11th December
13:00
Tuesday 20th December
14:00
Thursday 22nd December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 11th December
18:00
Friday 16th December
14:00
Tuesday 20th December
19:30
Tuesday 13th December
14:00
Thursday 15th December
19:30
Friday 16th December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 28th December
19:30
Friday 30th December
19:30
Saturday 17th December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 17th December
19:00
Monday 19th December
14:00
Wednesday 21st December
14:00
Friday 23rd December
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 24th December
17:00
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 21st December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 22nd December
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 28th December
14:00
Thursday 29th December
16:30