Run time: 109 mins

This exquisite debut feature from Bhutanese director Pawo Choyning Dorji, opens with Ugyen,its lead character, pondering what it really means to be happy.


When we first meet Ugyen, he is an unsatisfied teacher with dreams of escaping to Australia and becoming a singer, despite his grandmother’s insistence that being a teacher and a civil servant is a better job than anything he will find abroad. Before he can do that, his government employers send him to the remote village of Lunana, accessible only by horse and foot, to finish out his contract.


If Ugyen finds the city unsatisfying, imagine his displeasure at giving up material comforts, such as listening to music and using his phone, to live in a region without regular electricity or even indoor plumbing. Ugyen’s charming, yak-herding hosts are an internet-free picture of serenity against the Himalayan backdrop of verdant, misty slopes. Parables about teachers sent to the provinces are usually a two-way street: education and advancement for the students, life lessons for their instructor. Gentle and lilting, Lunana moves at a hiker’s pace, so sit back and soak up the scenery.


Monday 27th February
02:00 pm
Monday 27th February
07:30 pm
Tuesday 31st January
14:00
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 31st January
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 1st February
14:00
Wednesday 1st February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 2nd February
14:00
Thursday 2nd February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 23rd February
14:00
Thursday 23rd February
19:30
Friday 24th February
14:00
Friday 24th February
19:30
Friday 3rd February
14:00
Saturday 4th February
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 3rd February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 4th February
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 13th February
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 16th February
14:00
Sunday 5th February
18:00
Monday 6th February
14:00
Tuesday 7th February
14:00
Sunday 19th February
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 8th February
14:00
Wednesday 8th February
19:30
Friday 10th February
14:00
Friday 10th February
19:30
Saturday 25th February
19:00
Thursday 9th February
14:00
Thursday 9th February
19:30
Saturday 11th February
14:00
Saturday 11th February
19:00
Tuesday 14th February
19:30
Wednesday 15th February
14:00
Wednesday 15th February
19:30
Thursday 16th February
19:30
Tuesday 21st February
14:00
Tuesday 21st February
19:30
Tuesday 28th February
14:00
Tuesday 28th February
19:30
Friday 17th February
14:00
Saturday 25th February
14:00
Friday 17th February
19:30
Saturday 18th February
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 26th February
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 20th February
14:00
Monday 20th February
19:30
Wednesday 22nd February
14:00
Wednesday 22nd February
19:30
Monday 27th February
14:00
Monday 27th February
19:30