Run time: 118 mins

A candy-coloured adaptation of both Tim Minchin’s smash-hit musical and Roald Dahl’s beloved classic.


Utterly misunderstood by her narrow-minded opportunistic parents, the naturally bright Matilda educates herself with the help of story-loving librarian Mrs Phelps. When she is eventually enrolled for school at Crunchem Hall, Matilda strikes up a bond with her teacher, Miss Honey. But it’s a different tale elsewhere. The older girls are menacing and child-loathing headmistress Miss Trunchbull (Thompson) is a terrifying, monstrous presence who rules with an iron fist (and Hammer). When Matilda calls her out as a bully, Trunchbull vows to crush her, setting off a battle of wits that escalates to outrageous proportions.


This is a reimagining focusing not so much on Matilda’s telekinetic powers but on how stifling grown-ups can be of of children’s wishes and dreams. It allows the music to take the story to another place, and Minchin’s catalogue of catchy numbers are an absolute joy from start to finish.


Packed with laughs, shocks, surprises and a spectacularly scene-stealing performance from Thompson, this is one Dahl adaptation that’s surreal, fantastical and strange enough without ever feeling the need to morph into another lifeless Tim Burton production. Great fun.


Saturday 4th February
02:00 pm
Monday 13th February
02:00 pm
Thursday 16th February
02:00 pm
Tuesday 31st January
14:00
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 31st January
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 1st February
14:00
Wednesday 1st February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 2nd February
14:00
Thursday 2nd February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 23rd February
14:00
Thursday 23rd February
19:30
Friday 24th February
14:00
Friday 24th February
19:30
Friday 3rd February
14:00
Saturday 4th February
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 3rd February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 4th February
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 13th February
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 16th February
14:00
Sunday 5th February
18:00
Monday 6th February
14:00
Tuesday 7th February
14:00
Sunday 19th February
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 8th February
14:00
Wednesday 8th February
19:30
Friday 10th February
14:00
Friday 10th February
19:30
Saturday 25th February
19:00
Thursday 9th February
14:00
Thursday 9th February
19:30
Saturday 11th February
14:00
Saturday 11th February
19:00
Tuesday 14th February
19:30
Wednesday 15th February
14:00
Wednesday 15th February
19:30
Thursday 16th February
19:30
Tuesday 21st February
14:00
Tuesday 21st February
19:30
Tuesday 28th February
14:00
Tuesday 28th February
19:30
Friday 17th February
14:00
Saturday 25th February
14:00
Friday 17th February
19:30
Saturday 18th February
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 26th February
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 20th February
14:00
Monday 20th February
19:30
Wednesday 22nd February
14:00
Wednesday 22nd February
19:30
Monday 27th February
14:00
Monday 27th February
19:30