Run time: 82 mins

Directed by Jean Becker (son of Jacques) in 2009 “My Afternoons With Marguerite” is a sweet natured, heart in your hand, French comedy.


Set in a small, sunny town, Germain (Gérard Depardieu), a semi-literate, bumbling, fat handyman, strikes up an unlikely friendship with ninety-something Marguerite (the astonishing, real life nonagenarian, Gisèle Casadesus). Their chance meeting on a park bench sets in motion a whimsical friendship. Marguerite reads Camus to the big man, and slowly sets him on a path to self-improvement.


It’s unashamedly cosy, inimitability French, set in a leafy town where the sun always shines. The character of Germain is a strange one, a mixture of blustering assurance and low self-esteem, despite having a fabulous blonde girlfriend half his age. Such inconsistencies Depardieu pulls off with ease. However, Gisèle is the star; an actress since the 1930s, she is grace and charm and French, personified.


“It’s charming, sentimental, well-acted, and any readers’ group should make an outing to see it.” (Observer)


It is simply gorgeous and heartwarming. Don’t miss it this time around.

Thursday 29th October
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 31st October
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 1st November
18:00
Wednesday 4th November
14:00
Monday 2nd November
14:00
Monday 2nd November
19:30
Thursday 12th November
14:00
Tuesday 3rd November
14:00
Tuesday 3rd November
19:30
Thursday 5th November
19:30
Friday 6th November
14:00
Friday 6th November
19:30
Friday 13th November
19:30
Saturday 14th November
19:00
Sunday 15th November
18:00
Monday 16th November
14:00
Thursday 19th November
14:00
Saturday 7th November
19:00
Monday 9th November
14:00
Wednesday 11th November
19:30
Monday 9th November
19:30
Tuesday 10th November
14:00
Thursday 12th November
19:30
Saturday 14th November
14:00
Wednesday 18th November
14:00
Wednesday 18th November
19:30
Sunday 22nd November
18:00
Monday 23rd November
14:00
Monday 16th November
19:30
Tuesday 17th November
14:00
Saturday 21st November
14:00
Monday 23rd November
19:30
Tuesday 24th November
14:00
Wednesday 25th November
14:00
Wednesday 25th November
19:30
Thursday 26th November
14:00
Thursday 26th November
19:30
Friday 27th November
19:30
Monday 30th November
14:00