Run time: 101 mins

A towering turn from Sigourney Weaver is the driving force behind this affectionate true-life tale of ambition and low-level drudgery in mid-1990s New York publishing.

 

Adapted from Joanna Rakoff’s memoir My Salinger Year, it pitches our young, overeducated yet essentially clueless heroine, Joanna (Margaret Qualley) into the lion’s den when she nabs an assistant’s job for one of the city’s oldest literary agencies. Working for the hard-to-impress Margaret (Weaver) Joanna discovers that her main client is reclusive author J.D. Salinger (1921-2010) as she’s tasked with his fan-mail.


Joanna is soon intrigued by Salinger’s cult-like following. While balancing her own ambition as a writer, she becomes entangled in the lives of his fans, so chances on bending the rules.


It’s The Devil Wears Prada with a literature degree as Weaver channel’s Meryl Streep; with a lot of finger-snapping and brisk stubbing out of cigarettes, and as unimportant as that sounds, it goes a long way to make a modestly told story engaging and fun. (Jack Whiting)

Tuesday 20th July
07:30 pm
Wednesday 21st July
02:00 pm
Wednesday 21st July
07:30 pm
Friday 25th June
19:30
Thursday 15th July
19:30
Saturday 26th June
14:00
Friday 30th July
14:00
Sunday 27th June
18:00
Monday 28th June
19:30
Tuesday 29th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 30th June
14:00
Wednesday 30th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Saturday 3rd July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
19:30
Thursday 8th July
19:30
Sunday 11th July
18:00
Tuesday 13th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 14th July
14:00
Wednesday 14th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 20th July
19:30
Wednesday 21st July
14:00
Wednesday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 24th July
19:00
Monday 26th July
19:30
Wednesday 28th July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
19:30