Run time: 107 mins

And to think, Three Billboards was surely Francis McDormand’s crowning performance. Nomadland sees the veteran actor wander the landscapes of midwest America, and it profoundly moving.


McDormand is Fern – another outsider role in which she immerses herself completely, earning her third Oscar. Recently widowed and cash-strapped, Fern decides to leave her longtime home town of Empire, Nevada following factory closures, and strike out on her own. Fern packs her life into a vehicle and heads off into an uncertain future.


Adapted from a non-fiction book, Nomadland is about a generation whose economic future was shattered by the 2008 crash. These people are reduced to poverty, who can’t afford to retire but can’t afford to work while maintaining a home. So they have become nomads – a sort of tribe – roaming the country in camper vans in which they sleep, looking for seasonal work in bars, restaurants and – in this film – a gigantic Amazon warehouse.


Chloe Zhao is a filmmaker at once meticulous and soulful; unhurried, less a storyteller, more a compassionate collector of fleeting interactions and moments of solitude that coalesce into something truly special. (Jack Whiting)


Tuesday 29th June
07:30 pm
Wednesday 30th June
02:00 pm
Wednesday 30th June
07:30 pm
Friday 25th June
19:30
Thursday 15th July
19:30
Saturday 26th June
14:00
Friday 30th July
14:00
Sunday 27th June
18:00
Monday 28th June
19:30
Tuesday 29th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 30th June
14:00
Wednesday 30th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Saturday 3rd July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
19:30
Thursday 8th July
19:30
Sunday 11th July
18:00
Tuesday 13th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 14th July
14:00
Wednesday 14th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 20th July
19:30
Wednesday 21st July
14:00
Wednesday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 24th July
19:00
Monday 26th July
19:30
Wednesday 28th July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
19:30