Run time: 94 mins

With its exotic locations, themed soundtrack (this time it’s Blondie) and middle-age nostalgia, this comedy drama is forlornly chasing the Mamma Mia! bandwagon.


Fifty-something trio Kate (Jenny Seagrove), Cassie (Kelly Preston, in her final film role before her death, and to whom the film is dedicated) and Liz (Sally Phillips) attempt to recreate an interrailing trip to Palma from their youth – after the death of their friend Anna – taking Anna’s daughter Maddie (Elizabeth Dormer-Phillips) with them. At Anna’s funeral, Maddie’s grandmother (Judi Dench) presents the trio with an envelope containing four interrail passes: they’re a parting gift from Anna, who wants them to retrace a formative backpacking trip with Maddie in her place.

The film does have the vibe of an interrailing tour, not just of Europe but of emotions. So, in the same way an interrailer might stop off for a quick twirl round the Leaning Tower of Pisa before racing on to the Eiffel Tower, you can be sure that you’ll be alighting for a brief look at the river of grief, the pool of regret and the mountain of anger. Yet Blondie’s songs help alleviate the more sombre moments for an all-round fun trip. (Jack Whiting)


Monday 30th August
07:30 pm
Monday 2nd August
14:00
Friday 13th August
14:00
Thursday 5th August
14:00
Monday 9th August
14:00
Thursday 5th August
19:30
Friday 6th August
14:00
Sunday 8th August
18:00
Sunday 15th August
18:00
Tuesday 17th August
14:00
Saturday 7th August
19:00
Friday 20th August
19:30
Tuesday 10th August
14:00
Thursday 12th August
14:00
Wednesday 11th August
14:00
Sunday 22nd August
18:00
Thursday 12th August
19:30
Saturday 21st August
19:00
Saturday 14th August
19:00
Monday 16th August
14:00
Saturday 21st August
14:00
Wednesday 18th August
19:30
Thursday 19th August
19:30
Friday 20th August
14:00
Tuesday 24th August
14:00
Monday 23rd August
14:00
Thursday 26th August
14:00
Thursday 26th August
19:30
Friday 27th August
14:00
Saturday 28th August
19:00