Run time: 155 mins

Little has changed in this radiant corner of Kenya since director Sydney Pollack called ‘Wrap’ 35 years ago and its overriding beauty plays to this sweeping romance.


Adapting her memoirs, Pollack’s film sees Karen Blixen, sensitively played by Meryl Streep, move to colonial Kenya in 1914 for a marriage of convenience with Baron von Bror – close? (Klaus Maria Brandauer). Instead of cattle, he has decided to run a coffee plantation. But soon loses interest in farming  and leaves her behind while he goes hunting (chasing animals, and other easy targets). The arrival of hunter Denys Finch Hatton (Robert Redford, as rugged as the landscape, and just as lumpy and distant) provides a welcome distraction from her loneliness. After the usual eteceteras of inconvenient ‘Convenient Marriages’, she returns to Africa. It is here, her passion for the floppy-haired adventurer takes root and deepens.


Out of Africa is postcard perfect, and breathtakingly filmed on location. It is a film with the courage to be about complex sweeping emotions and to use the star power of its actors without apology. (research Jack Whiting)

Thank you, fabulous, underapplauded, film maker – Sydney Pollack. Another good man lost.  Come, be thrilled by its vast light, wide on such a huge screen.



Wednesday 28th July
02:00 pm
Thursday 29th July
07:30 pm
Friday 25th June
19:30
Thursday 15th July
19:30
Saturday 26th June
14:00
Friday 30th July
14:00
Sunday 27th June
18:00
Monday 28th June
19:30
Tuesday 29th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 30th June
14:00
Wednesday 30th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Saturday 3rd July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
19:30
Thursday 8th July
19:30
Sunday 11th July
18:00
Tuesday 13th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 14th July
14:00
Wednesday 14th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 20th July
19:30
Wednesday 21st July
14:00
Wednesday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 24th July
19:00
Monday 26th July
19:30
Wednesday 28th July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
19:30