Run time: 101 mins

Dame Judi Dench is the saving grace of this rather dry retelling of the KBG’s British ‘granny spy’


Based on the true story of Melita Norwood, whose history of supplying the KGB with state secrets was exposed at the age of 87, Red Joan begins with Joan Stanley (Dench) arrested for treason. An unsuspecting pensioner with a love of gardening, Joan’s neighbours are bewildered when the police turn up at her doorstep. As she is interrogated, extended flashbacks transport us to her youth in Cambridge, the young Joan (Sophie Cookson) getting most of the screen time. Fascinated by her glamorous Russian classmate Sonya (Tereza Srbova), Joan agrees to join her at young Communist meetings. It is there that she meets Sonya’s cousin Leo (Tom Hughes) his charm sweeping her away in a murky cloud of infatuation. Following Joan throughout university and the following years, the film explores how the Brit falls (or dives) into espionage and a hidden radical life. Yet for someone so radical, the film itself is not so much – instead telling the narrative through rose-tinted glasses. (Rachel Williams).

The complete opposite of M in Bond, and nothing like Anne Hathaway, (the first one) Judi once again demonstrates her unassailable chameleon talent.  Come


Sunday 26th May
06:00 pm
Wednesday 29th May
02:00 pm
Wednesday 29th May
07:30 pm
Tuesday 4th June
02:00 pm
Tuesday 4th June
07:30 pm
Thursday 6th June
02:00 pm
Thursday 23rd May
14:00
Thursday 23rd May
19:30
Friday 24th May
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Monday 27th May
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 7th June
14:00
Friday 7th June
19:30
Monday 17th June
14:00
Sunday 26th May
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 29th May
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 29th May
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Tuesday 4th June
14:00
Tuesday 4th June
19:30
Thursday 6th June
14:00
Thursday 30th May
14:00
Saturday 22nd June
14:00
Friday 31st May
19:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 1st June
19:00
Saturday 15th June
19:00
Sunday 2nd June
18:00
Monday 3rd June
14:00
Wednesday 5th June
14:00
Thursday 6th June
19:30
Friday 14th June
14:00
Sunday 9th June
18:00
Wednesday 12th June
14:00
Tuesday 18th June
19:30
Wednesday 19th June
14:00
Wednesday 19th June
19:30
Monday 10th June
14:00
Monday 10th June
19:30
Wednesday 12th June
19:30
Friday 14th June
19:30
Tuesday 11th June
14:00
Tuesday 11th June
19:30
Thursday 13th June
14:00
Thursday 13th June
19:30
Sunday 16th June
18:00
Tuesday 18th June
14:00
Friday 21st June
14:00
Thursday 20th June
14:00
Thursday 20th June
19:30
Thursday 27th June
14:00
Friday 21st June
19:30
Saturday 22nd June
19:00
Monday 24th June
14:00
Tuesday 25th June
19:30
Monday 24th June
19:30
Tuesday 25th June
14:00
Wednesday 26th June
14:00
Wednesday 26th June
19:30
Thursday 27th June
19:30
Friday 28th June
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 28th June
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 29th June
19:00
SINGLE SEATS
Sunday 30th June
18:00
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 29th June
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS