Run time: 119 mins

*Surprise screening to celebrate 16 years of The Rex*


Who in 2004 would have thought then in “possibly Britain’s most beautiful cinema” (BBC 2005) we would be here now, 16 years later and still the most successful independent cinema in…?

I did, alongside the four friends who brought it to life with me.


The attention to detail then as now, has sustained. It’s unique repertory programming was declared “Brilliant” by the Guardian this year as too its easy, non-fussy, beautiful sense of detail and “velveteen glamour”.


What we did right was to ignore all experts and gainsayers who said cinema was dying and none of it would work. One huge screen back in its original proscenium, legroom, tables, drinks and candles, at a fair price? How could such a thing ever make any money? What we missed was failing to copyright. From the start, in one watered down version or another, the copies grew.  But they choke on the fool’s concept of a fair price – and, with no popcorn to hike!! Enough.

We are here all year round and you’re welcome always. We will continue to find films from across the world to stand alongside the rest. Thanks for loving the place too.


Saturday 5th December
07:00 pm
Friday 4th December
14:00
Tuesday 15th December
19:30
Friday 4th December
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Sunday 6th December
18:00
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 5th December
19:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 7th December
14:00
Monday 7th December
19:30
Tuesday 8th December
14:00
Wednesday 9th December
19:30
Thursday 10th December
14:00
Thursday 10th December
19:30
Friday 11th December
19:30
Saturday 12th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 12th December
19:00
Monday 14th December
14:00
Sunday 13th December
18:00
Tuesday 15th December
14:00
Wednesday 16th December
14:00
Wednesday 16th December
19:30
Thursday 17th December
14:00
Thursday 17th December
19:30
Friday 18th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Friday 18th December
19:30
Monday 21st December
14:00
Saturday 19th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 19th December
19:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 20th December
18:00
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 23rd December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 23rd December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 24th December
17:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 21st December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 22nd December
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Tuesday 22nd December
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 30th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Thursday 31st December
18:00