Run time: 116 mins

What do you do for an encore if you’re director Sam Mendes?


If ambition, screen craft and a cast to kill for were everything, Road to Perdition should have had every Oscar enthusiast trumpeting their way to the ceremony. Mendes is seemingly pretty good at this after all. Spielberg first contacted screenwriter David Self to adapt the story into a feature film but it ended up in the lap of Mendes.


Here a mob enforcer’s son witnesses a murder, forcing him and his father to take to the road and his father down a path of redemption and revenge.


The actors deliver perfectly. Never once do we think we’re watching a familiar Tom Hanks, whose almost sickly appearance aids him in the role of a solemn, guilt-ridden hit man. Family tragedy compels Hanks’ Sullivan to seek revenge against his former associates while remaining one step ahead of the freelance assassin they’ve hired to kill him. America’s most trusted man gets a much needed makeover.


Mendes seems to have a quality to draw from his performers. Or perhaps draw them to him. Anyone who has seen 1917 will testify to that. (Research Chris Coetsee)


Tuesday 17th November
07:30 pm
Thursday 29th October
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 31st October
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 1st November
18:00
Wednesday 4th November
14:00
Monday 2nd November
14:00
Monday 2nd November
19:30
Thursday 12th November
14:00
Tuesday 3rd November
14:00
Tuesday 3rd November
19:30
Thursday 5th November
19:30
Friday 6th November
14:00
Friday 6th November
19:30
Friday 13th November
19:30
Saturday 14th November
19:00
Sunday 15th November
18:00
Monday 16th November
14:00
Thursday 19th November
14:00
Saturday 7th November
19:00
Monday 9th November
14:00
Wednesday 11th November
19:30
Monday 9th November
19:30
Tuesday 10th November
14:00
Thursday 12th November
19:30
Saturday 14th November
14:00
Wednesday 18th November
14:00
Wednesday 18th November
19:30
Sunday 22nd November
18:00
Monday 23rd November
14:00
Monday 16th November
19:30
Tuesday 17th November
14:00
Saturday 21st November
14:00
Monday 23rd November
19:30
Tuesday 24th November
14:00
Wednesday 25th November
14:00
Wednesday 25th November
19:30
Thursday 26th November
14:00
Thursday 26th November
19:30
Friday 27th November
19:30
Monday 30th November
14:00