Run time: 120 mins


Norman Jewison’s extreme-sports future shock bundles together a paranoid political thriller, a media satire, ultraviolent exploitation, and enough zoom shots to make Robert Altman blush.


You also get James Caan as Jonathan E, the greatest competitor in the history of rollerball — a wildly popular bloodsport that combines roller derby, motorcross, football and boxing. In this messed up future, corporate rule has toppled the nation state, leading executives to rig the game so that sportsmen like Caan’s champion ‘baller can’t realise the power of their popularity.


Rollerball was intended to be Jewison’s big anti-violence statement, although it’s easy to see how cinemagoers, at the time, instead took it to be a celebration of an imaginary future-sport. With each game the rules slacken – no penalties, limited substitutions – and the violence becomes more extreme.


Brilliant editing and some bone-crunching sound effects put you right in amongst the bloodthirsty crowd, and while the anti-capitalist message is a little heavy-handed at times, you can’t beat this for adrenaline-pumping action. Almost fifty years on, the skate-rink action, which culminates in an apocalyptic death match, remains as rousing as ever.


Saturday 29th October
07:00 pm
Monday 26th September
14:00
Monday 26th September
19:30
Wednesday 28th September
14:00
Wednesday 28th September
19:30
Thursday 29th September
14:00
Friday 30th September
14:00
Friday 30th September
19:30
Saturday 1st October
14:00
Saturday 1st October
19:00
Tuesday 4th October
19:30
Thursday 6th October
14:00
Sunday 9th October
18:00
Monday 10th October
14:00
Wednesday 12th October
14:00
Wednesday 12th October
19:30
Thursday 13th October
14:00
Friday 14th October
14:00
Sunday 2nd October
18:00
Wednesday 5th October
14:00
Wednesday 5th October
19:30
Tuesday 18th October
14:00
Sunday 23rd October
18:00
Monday 3rd October
14:00
Monday 3rd October
19:30
Thursday 6th October
19:30
Friday 7th October
14:00
Sunday 16th October
18:00
Monday 17th October
14:00
Friday 7th October
19:30
Friday 14th October
19:30
Saturday 15th October
14:00
Saturday 15th October
19:00
Saturday 8th October
19:00
Tuesday 11th October
14:00
Tuesday 11th October
19:30
Tuesday 18th October
19:30
Wednesday 19th October
14:00
Thursday 20th October
14:00
Thursday 20th October
19:30
Friday 21st October
14:00
Friday 21st October
19:30
Tuesday 25th October
19:30
Wednesday 26th October
19:30
Monday 24th October
14:00
Wednesday 26th October
14:00
Thursday 27th October
19:30
Friday 28th October
14:00
Sunday 30th October
18:00
Monday 31st October
14:00
Monday 31st October
19:30