Run time: 94 mins

Kim Longinotto’s comprehensive portrait of Sicilian photographer Letizia Battaglia


For nearly twenty years in the 70s and 80s, Battaglia was the reluctant but driven chronicler of the true savagery of the Mafia in her native Palermo. She would arrive at the scene of murders and record in stark black and white the blood-splattered victims of the Corleonesi crime family. Even as death threats against her mounted, Battaglia became a voice for the terrified and exploded the myth that the Mafia only killed each other.


Thanks to Longinotto, Battaglia now has an even bigger audience. Offering more than just biography, the director also has access to an impressive array of archival video and film footage, simultaneously presenting an in-depth history of 20th-century Sicily. She also folds in clips from period Italian films, blending reality and fiction in a way that emphasises how the savagery of mafia activity takes on an almost cinematic quality, despite its horror.


Organised crime has often been flecked with a tragic, romantic aura that softens some of its viciousness. Not here. The bloody bodies of Battaglia’s snapshots throw the truth of the Cosa Nostra into sharp, stark relief. (Research Chris Coetsee) More Goodfellas than Godfather, but neither. This is real.


Tuesday 21st January
07:30 pm
Tuesday 21st January
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 1st February
19:00
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 5th February
14:00
Wednesday 5th February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 22nd January
14:00
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 22nd January
19:30
SOLD OUT
Thursday 23rd January
14:00
Thursday 23rd January
19:30
Friday 24th January
14:00
Friday 24th January
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 25th January
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 27th January
14:00
Wednesday 29th January
14:00
Wednesday 29th January
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 30th January
14:00
Saturday 1st February
14:00
Monday 3rd February
14:00
Saturday 25th January
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 8th February
14:00
Saturday 29th February
14:00
Sunday 26th January
18:00
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 28th January
14:00
SOLD OUT
Thursday 30th January
19:30
SOLD OUT
Friday 31st January
14:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 2nd February
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 4th February
14:00
Tuesday 4th February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 6th February
14:00
Thursday 6th February
19:30
Wednesday 12th February
14:00
Wednesday 12th February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 14th February
14:00
Sunday 23rd February
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 31st January
19:30
SOLD OUT
Saturday 8th February
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 3rd February
19:30
Friday 7th February
14:00
Friday 7th February
19:30
Sunday 9th February
18:00
SINGLE SEATS
Monday 10th February
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 13th February
14:00
Saturday 15th February
19:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 16th February
18:00
SINGLE SEATS
Tuesday 18th February
19:30
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 25th February
14:00
Tuesday 11th February
14:00
Tuesday 11th February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 13th February
19:30
Thursday 20th February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 15th February
14:00
Monday 17th February
14:00
Monday 17th February
19:30
Tuesday 18th February
14:00
Friday 21st February
14:00
Wednesday 19th February
19:30
Thursday 20th February
14:00
Friday 21st February
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 22nd February
19:00
Monday 24th February
14:00
Wednesday 26th February
14:00
Wednesday 26th February
19:30
Saturday 29th February
19:00
Saturday 22nd February
14:00
Tuesday 25th February
19:30
Thursday 27th February
14:00
Thursday 27th February
19:30
Friday 28th February
14:00
Friday 28th February
19:30
SINGLE SEATS