Run time: 100 mins

Playwright Jessica Swale makes her directorial debut with this touching wartime drama.


The Guernsey Literary Potato Peel Pie Society: Part II. Or at least that is the vibe the producers appear to have been clawing at.


Alice (Gemma Arterton) is a fiercely independent and reclusive young woman living alone by the Kentish seaside during World War II. Much to her frustration, she learns that she is expected to take on a teenage evacuee from London, Frank (Lucas Bond). Agreeing he can stay for one week while the town evacuation committee find him another place to stay, she is soon taken aback by his sensitivity and independence. A connection forms as she reflects on a past of loneliness, regret and her lost love, Vera.


A great performance by Arterton fits neatly alongside those of seasoned pros Penelope Wilton and Tom Courtney who, as entertainingly as ever, flesh out this multi-timeline tale. Cinematographer Laurie Rose should also take a bow for beautifully capturing the costal scenery.


If you had a slice of Potato Peel Pie, you’ll know exactly where it’s headed but as a bite of sweet, escapist fantasy, maybe it’s just what’s needed right now. (Research Chris Coetsee)


Thursday 1st October
07:30 pm
Thursday 8th October
02:00 pm
Tuesday 22nd September
19:30
Thursday 24th September
19:30
Friday 25th September
19:30
Saturday 26th September
14:00
Tuesday 27th October
14:00
Sunday 27th September
18:00
Wednesday 30th September
14:00
Wednesday 30th September
19:30
Wednesday 7th October
14:00
Wednesday 7th October
19:30
Thursday 1st October
19:30
Thursday 8th October
14:00
Saturday 3rd October
14:00
Monday 26th October
14:00
Monday 5th October
14:00
Monday 5th October
19:30
Tuesday 6th October
14:00
Tuesday 6th October
19:30
Saturday 10th October
14:00
Thursday 29th October
14:00
Sunday 11th October
18:00
Monday 12th October
14:00
Tuesday 13th October
14:00
Tuesday 13th October
19:30
Wednesday 14th October
14:00
Wednesday 14th October
19:30
Thursday 15th October
14:00
Friday 23rd October
19:30
Friday 16th October
19:30
Saturday 17th October
14:00
Wednesday 28th October
14:00
Sunday 18th October
18:00
Monday 19th October
14:00
Wednesday 21st October
14:00
Monday 26th October
19:30
Wednesday 21st October
19:30
Thursday 22nd October
14:00
Thursday 22nd October
19:30
Saturday 24th October
14:00
Sunday 25th October
18:00