Run time: 95 mins

Tender performances from Stanley Tucci and Colin Firth carry this heartfelt, intimate film from actor-turned-film-maker Harry Macqueen, whose 2014 debut, Hinterland, was also a two-hander about love.


Partners Sam (Firth) and Tusker (Tucci) are driving through the Lake District, headed to the first concert classical pianist Sam intends to give after what appears to have been a long break. Tusker has been diagnosed with early-onset dementia. He knows there will come a time, sooner rather than later, when he’ll look into Sam’s eyes and no longer see the man he’s loved for two decades. Inevitability hangs like a pointed sword above these men’s heads.


But life continues as normal, it seems, except for the creeping feeling that all their bickering about sat-navs, cooking responsibilities, and sleeping arrangements are but a well-rehearsed play that helps the two avoid confrontation with what lies ahead.


The tone of Supernova will strike anyone who’s still recovering from the pulverising impact of The Father, as extremely gentle. And that’s sort of the point; it never insists on pleasing Oscar judges; this a more low-key affair; a sincere and affecting portrait of two people stoically accepting mortality. (Jack Whiting)


Wednesday 18th August
07:30 pm
Thursday 19th August
07:30 pm
Monday 2nd August
14:00
Friday 13th August
14:00
Thursday 5th August
14:00
Monday 9th August
14:00
Thursday 5th August
19:30
Friday 6th August
14:00
Sunday 8th August
18:00
Sunday 15th August
18:00
Tuesday 17th August
14:00
Saturday 7th August
19:00
Friday 20th August
19:30
Tuesday 10th August
14:00
Thursday 12th August
14:00
Wednesday 11th August
14:00
Sunday 22nd August
18:00
Thursday 12th August
19:30
Saturday 21st August
19:00
Saturday 14th August
19:00
Monday 16th August
14:00
Saturday 21st August
14:00
Wednesday 18th August
19:30
Thursday 19th August
19:30
Friday 20th August
14:00
Tuesday 24th August
14:00
Monday 23rd August
14:00
Thursday 26th August
14:00
Thursday 26th August
19:30
Friday 27th August
14:00
Saturday 28th August
19:00